Districts of Delhi - Informative & researched article on Districts of Delhi
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesStates of India

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
States of India|Indian Cities|Beaches of India|Hill Stations in India|Forests in India
Home > Travel > States of India > Indian Union Territories > Delhi > Districts of Delhi
Districts of Delhi
Districts of Delhi are nine in number, each headed by a District Magistrate. All the nine districts of Delhi are known for their tourist places having great historical significance.
More on Districts of Delhi (4 Articles)
 Districts of DelhiThere are nine administrative districts in Delhi. The present system of administration in Delhi can be traced back to 1803, when Delhi came under the rule of British East India Company. Delhi district had a Deputy Commissioner who was the Chief District Officer, having revenue and registration powers. He was also the head of urban administration, being President of the District Board and the Municipality. Till independence, Delhi had a Chief Commissioner as the administrative and executive head, with the Deputy Commissioner reporting to him. He had three Assistant Commissioners to share responsibilities such as case work of revenue and criminal appeals, municipal and minor criminal cases, and administration of the Municipality.

After independence of India, the nature of District Administration of Delhi underwent some changes with devolution of powers to newly created Departments. For example, the development works were transferred to the Development Commissioner, the industries work to the Directorate of Industries and the work of transport to the Department of Transport. However, Deputy Commissioner, Delhi continued to be the head of District Administration, responsible for law and order, excise, issue of arms and explosive licenses, and citizenship certificates, apart from revenue and criminal judicial work. In the mid-seventies, the office of Deputy Commissioner was organised. There were four administrative districts - New, Central, North and South, looked after by three Assistant District Magistrates, amongst whom the various other powers and functions, such as treasuries, excise, entertainment etc., were divided. There were 12 Sub-Divisions, each headed by Sub Division Magistrates, which was later reduced to seven.

Two major changes greatly diluted the role of Deputy Commissioner's Office. The first was the separation of the executive and the judiciary in 1969, after which heinous crimes were dealt with by Sessions Courts and other offences including IPC offences were dealt with by Judicial Magistrates. The Executive Magistrates were to look after executive and administrative matters.

In the year 1978, Delhi Police Act was promulgated, by which Delhi came under the Commissioner of Police system. This was the situation in 1996 when the exercise of decentralizing the Deputy Commissioner's office by setting up 27 Sub Divisional Magistrate offices and nine Deputy Commissioner's offices were started. While the Sub Divisional Magistrates were put in place in mid-1996, the Deputy Commissioners began functioning from 1st of January, 1997.

Districts of Delhi Delhi is the national capital of India and is known for its excellent tourist spots, recreational facilities and rich cultural tradition. It is situated on the banks of the Yamuna Riverand covers an area of 1,485 sq km. It is also the centre of trade, commerce and industry and the centre of Indian politics. Offices of central governments are also located here. Its rich cultural and historic tradition is manifested in the numerous historical monuments that are scattered throughout the state. Prominent among them are the Red Fort, Qutub Minar, Purana Quila, Tughlaqabad Fort, Tomb of Humayun, Firoz Shah Kotla Stadium, India Gate, Lodi Garden, Jama Masjid, Rajghat, Jantar Mantar and Safdarjung's Tomb.

Delhi is divided into nine districts, which are as follows -
Central Delhi District: Central Delhi District is spread over an area of 25 sq kilometres. Connaught place, a thriving commercial centre lies in Central District.

East Delhi District is situated on the banks of Yamuna River and is one of the densely populated areas in Delhi. It has some of the busiest commercial areas in Delhi like Vikas Marg, Gandhinagar and Lakshminagar.

New Delhi District covers an area of 35 sq kilometres. It is situated on the eastern side of the Yamuna River. Attractions of this district include the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the one-time imperial residence of the British viceroys and the India Gate.

North Delhi District covers an area of 60 sq kilometres.

North East Delhi District is largely rural and is spread over an area of 60 sq. kilometres.

North West Delhi District is the largest in Delhi and covers an area of 440 sq kilometres.

South Delhi District is an idyllic tourist destination. The major tourist attractions include Qutub Minar, Balban's tomb, Humayun's Tomb. It is also dotted with a number of temples, which are Kalkaji Temple, Lotus Temple, Chattarpur Mandir and Shri Sai Baba Temple.

South West Delhi District is spread over an area of 420 sq km and has a distinguished historical background.

West Delhi District covers an area of 129 sq. km.

(Last Updated on : 06/05/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Delhi  (44)
Hastinapur  (2)
Recently Updated Articles in States of India
Chamba is a small town situated in the state of Uttarakhand, and perfectly placed at the junction of roads leading from Rishikesh, Mussoorie, Tehri Dam Lake and New Tehri.
Red Hills Lake
Red Hills Lake located in Tamil Nadu is a rain fed reservoir. The lake also known as Puzhal Lake has a full capacity of 3,300 million ft³.
Maenam Hill
Maenam Hill located near to Ravangla town in Sikkim is a famous tourist spot. One can enjoy the breathtaking view of the Kanchenjunga Peak and waterfalls.
Religion of Odisha
Religion of Odisha is varied. There is seen the presence of diverse religious forces in the state.
Forum on States of India
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Travel
Districts of Delhi - Informative & researched article on Districts of Delhi
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.