History of Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Library
The initial collection of Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Library, when it was established, was donated by Prof. P.K. Telang in the loving memory of his father Justice Kashinath Trimbak Telang in the year 1971. The Telang Hall of the Central Hindu College, housed the collection. The library was shifted to the Central Hall of the Arts College (now Faculty of Arts) in 1921 and later in 1941 to its present building.
Collections of Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Library
Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Library constituted a collection of about 60000 volumes in the year 1931. Donations from various sources contributed to this collection. Till 1940s, this trend of donating the personal and family collections to the library continued. This resulted in adding some of the rarest and most unique books and journals belonging to 18th century to the collection. The library houses family and personal collection of Tagore family, Jawaharlal Nehru, Batuk Nath Sharma, Roormal Goenka, Jamnalal Bajaj of Wardha and Lala Sri Ram of Delhi. The Central Library is located at the apex of Banaras Hindu University Library System. The huge collection of journals can be accessed through internet and the books have been made available in e-form. By May 2010, the complete digitization of manuscripts at the library was completed which were later made available online. It has also hosted a two-day national seminar on Right to Information (RTI) and Libraries. Sayaji Rao Gaekwad Library organized a national workshop on manuscript conservation in October 2010 in association with the National Manuscripts Mission.
|More Articles in Libraries of North India (6)|