Mumbai Suburban District, Maharashtra - Informative & researched article on Mumbai Suburban District, Maharashtra
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesStates of India

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
States of India|Indian Cities|Beaches of India|Hill Stations in India|Forests in India
Home > Travel > States of India > Maharashtra > Districts of Maharashtra > Mumbai Suburban District
Mumbai Suburban District, Maharashtra
Mumbai Suburban District is the second smallest district of Maharashtra. Mumbai Suburban District, population wise, is one of the largest districts in the country.
 Mumbai Suburban District, MaharashtraMumbai Suburban District of Maharashtra administratively comes under Konkan Division. This district was declared as an independent district on 1st of October, 1990, as a consequence of the bifurcation of the Greater Mumbai into two revenue districts namely, Mumbai City and Mumbai Suburban. Prior to this development, Mumbai Suburban District was a part of Mumbai City District. The jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District is from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Mulund and from Kurla up to the Trombay Creek. The headquarters of Mumbai Suburban District is located in Bandra (East). Total geographical area of Mumbai Suburban District is 369 sq kms.

History of Mumbai Suburban District
In the year 1734 Mumbai and its nearby area was under the control of Portuguese. Thereafter Mumbai Island (Bombay Island) was gifted to the Queen of England in the year about 1760-1761. The Vashi creek is situated on the North side and Mahim Causeway is lying on the south side. On the western side, there is Arabian Sea and on the eastern side, the boundary of Thane. This administrative unit forms the limits of Mumbai Suburban District and was part of Goa which was under the control of Portuguese up to 1771 - 1772. Later on, the British rulers took over control of the region of this area. In 1871, Thane District was carved out of the east side of Konkan and Portion of Mumbai Island then known as Taluka South Salesette, Northern Division. In the year 1970, around 50 villages from Taluka Salesette were withdrawn and independent Bandra Mahal was created. In the year 1920, the Salesette Taluka was divided into two parts known as South Salesette Taluka and North Salesette Taluka. Basically Salesette Taluka consisted of 84 villages which were situated from Bandra to Dahisar and Kurla to Mulund. At that time, some villages were withdrawn from Thane district and included in Mumbai Suburban District and South Salesette Taluka was divided into three talukas namely Andheri, Borivali and Kurla. Hectors of land have been reclaimed from shallow creeks and marshy lands.

Administration of Mumbai Suburban District
Mumbai Suburban District, MaharashtraThe unit 'Greater Mumbai' came into existence in April 1950 after merging of Mumbai Suburban and Mumbai City for the purpose of Municipal administration. The Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai handles the entire range of civic affairs of the city. For smooth administration the entire city is divided into six administrative zones with 23 wards. The zones are supervised by the Deputy Municipal Commissioners while the administrative head of each ward is controlled by Assistant Commissioner (Ward Officer). There are departmental heads who supervise the work of the major departments pertaining to the civic administration and working under there respective officers. Mumbai Suburban District has three Parliamentary Constituencies along with its 18 Assembly Segments. Mumbai Suburban District is divided into three tehsils namely, Andheri, Borivali and Kurla. Up to the year 1990, the Collector for the District Administration of Mumbai and Mumbai suburban and one Additional Collector were separately posted to look after the administrative work of Mumbai Suburban. On 4th of October 1990, Mumbai Suburban District got separated from Mumbai City. Thereafter, Mumbai Suburban District came into existence with independent district administration. A new Collector was posted as head of the District. Collector is also the District Magistrate of the District. He is responsible for coordinating the activities of various departments under him and acts as the District Coordinator. In the absence of Collector, Resident Deputy Collector functions as the Collector.

Many important places have adorned the beauty of Mumbai Suburban District like Mount Mary Church, Jogeshwari Caves, Fantasy land, Essel world, Water Kingdom, Sanjay Gandhi National Park, Aarey Colony, Kanheri Caves, Film city, Santacruz Airport, Sahar Airport, Tulsi Lake, Vihar Lake, Powai Lake, Mithi River, Dahisar River, Poiser and Oshiwara River, etc.

(Last Updated on : 16/10/2014)
More Articles in Districts of Maharashtra  (125)
Recently Updated Articles in States of India
Tenneti Beach
Tenneti Beach is one of the charming tourist destinations of Andhra Pradesh. It is named after the Tenneti Park which is located near the beach. The beach is blessed with peacefulness, scenic beauty and pristine water.
Narmada Waterfall
Narmada Waterfall is a famed tourist destination of Gujarat adorned with exquisite natural beauty. The place is also ideal for adventure lovers where activities like trekking and camping can be enjoyed.
Chittar is a village located in Pathanamthitta district in Kerala. It is famed for swaying rubber trees and several tourist destinations.
Malayattoor is a village in Ernakulam District of Kerala. This village in Kerala is the complete amalgamation of mountain, river and the landforms.
Hrongkhols Tribe
Hrongkhols Tribe, a small tribal group, is the inhabitants of Dima Hasao District. They have their indigenous customs and traditions and they are mainly engaged in jhum cultivation.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on States of India
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Travel
Mumbai Suburban District, Maharashtra - Informative & researched article on Mumbai Suburban District, Maharashtra
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.