Dausa District, Rajasthan - Informative & researched article on Dausa District, Rajasthan
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesStates of India

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
States of India|Indian Cities|Beaches of India|Hill Stations in India|Forests in India
Home > Travel > States of India > Rajasthan > Districts of Rajasthan > Dausa District
Dausa District, Rajasthan
Dausa District is situated in Rajasthan. The district is named after a hill called Devgiri.
More on Dausa District, Rajasthan (2 Articles)
 Dausa District, RajasthanDausa District is situated at about 55 kilometers far from Jaipur on NH-11. It is also known as Devnagri and is famous for Mehandipur Balaji Temple. A worship place of Lord Shiva with beautiful and natural water-fall at Jhajhirampura is also a major attraction of the Dausa District.

History of Dausa District
Dausa District was constituted on 10th April 1991 by separating 4 Tehsils namely Dausa, Baswa, Sikrai and Lalsot of Jaipur district. Mahwa Tehsil of Sawai Madhopur was included in this district on 15th August 1992. The city of Dausa is situated in the north-eastern region of Rajasthan, a region widely known as Dundhar. The Chouhans and Badgurjars ruled this land in 10th Century A.D. Dausa was privileged to become the first capital of the then Dundhar Region.

Dausa was an important political place for Dundhar region. The Chauhan ruler Raja Soodh Dev ruled this region during 996 to 1006 AD. Later, from 1006 AD to 1036 AD, Raja Dule Rai ruled this region for 30 years.

Geography of Dausa District
It is one of the districts belonging to the Jaipur Division and is surrounded by 6 districts, namely, Jaipur, Tonk, Sawai Madhopur, Karouli, Bharatpur and Alwar. It has a total area of 3404.78 sq. kms. Dausa District, RajasthanThe history of Stone Age dates back to the Stone Age. The antiquities found in Dholpur can be dated to pre-Gupta period, and the site remained under the occupation up to the late mediaeval period.

Administration of Dausa District
Dausa had been identified as the 29th district of Rajasthan. District Collector & District Magistrate is the head of District administration. Additional District Collector (Administration), Chief Executive Officer (Zila Parishad), Sub-divisional Officers and Assistant Collector are the other administrative officers in this Rajasthani district. Various district level departments and offices are located at the district headquarter. Dausa district has 5 sub-divisions, 5 tehsils and 1098 revenue villages.

Culture of Dausa District
The folk art of Hela-Khayal is a unique singing style of this region. Its uniqueness lies in its traditional singing which is highly stylised yet it has now been skilfully employed to comment on the current socio-economic-political scenario in a satirical manner. Extremely popular among the village folk of Dausa, Hela singers demonstrate and typify the undying spirit and zest for life of its people.

Tourism in Dausa District
Abhaneri is famous for its Post-Gupta or early medieval monuments. It is situated at about 33 Kms from the district headquarter towards Bandikui. The Chand Baori (Step Well) and Harshat Mata Temple are the important places to visit. The temple is an excellent example of intricate carving on stone whereas the Baori has stairs with unparallel artistic and architectural beauty.

(Last Updated on : 21/02/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Districts of Rajasthan  (146)
Recently Updated Articles in States of India
Travel Information on Rajasthan
Travel Information on Rajasthan will come handy for both national and international tourists, who want to visit Rajasthan.
Demography of Rajasthan
Demography of Rajasthan is figured out in the year 2011 with a population of 6.86 Crores.
History of Lakshadweep
History of Lakshadweep defines the first settlement on these islands under the Union Territory of India that was ruled by Cheraman Perumal, who was the last king of Kerala.
Geography of Bharatpur District
Geography of Bharatpur district is marked by its location, a 100 metres above sea level. There are three main seasonal rivers in the district, namely Ban Ganga River, Rooparel and Gambhir River.
Pilgrimage Tourism in Pathanamthitta District
Pilgrimage Tourism in Pathanamthitta District comprises of visiting the various temples and churches situated here. Also known as the ‘headquarters of pilgrimage tourism’, Sabarimala which lies in the district is one of the most revered sites in Kerala.
Forum on States of India
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Travel
Dausa District, Rajasthan - Informative & researched article on Dausa District, Rajasthan
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.