Kailasa, Indian Mountain Range - Informative & researched article on Kailasa, Indian Mountain Range
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesGeography of India

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Geography of India > Indian Mountains > Indian Mountain Ranges > Kailasa
Kailasa, Indian Mountain Range
Kailasa is a mountain range situated in the lofty regions of Himalayas, north of the Manasa Lake.
 Kailasa, Indian  Mountain RangeKailasa is a mountain situated in the lofty regions to the north of the Himalaya, and celebrated in the traditions and myths of India. Mount Kailasa is said to be Lord Shiva's paradise.

The word Kailasa in Sanskrit means 'crystal'. In the Puranas Kailasa is described as a fabulous mountain to the west of Meru. This is a mountain of pure silver, brilliantly white, and the residence of Lord Shiva. Shiva resides at the peak of the Mount Kailasa. He mediates here and lives with his wife. Devi Parvati. Kubera, the god of riches use to reside near this mountain.

In earlier ages it was believed that all the mountains had wings but their flights were productive of so much mischief and danger. Lord Indra struck off their wings with his thunderbolts, and fixed them in their present position. Kailasa also had wings but was fixed ear the northern heights of the Himalayas.

Mount Kailasa in Hindu mythology is regarded as a heaven, the final end of souls and the spiritual center of the world. Some believe that this mountain is a Shiva Linga and Lake Manasarovara below is the yoni of His consort.

The Vishnu Purana refers Mount Kailasa as the center of the world. The four sides of Kailasa are made of ruby, crystal, gold, and lapis lazuli. It is the pillar of the world and is the center of the whole world. Mount Kailasa is positioned at the heart of six mountain ranges signifying a lotus. There are four rivers which streams down from the Kailasa and then flows to the four quarters of the earth and dividing it into four sections.

The Kailash Temple is the largest rock cut temple. There are many sculptures and paintings which portray stories relating to Lord Shiva and Parvati and Ravana, who tried to dislocate the god and goddess by shaking the mountain.

In tantric Buddhism, Mount Kailasa is represented as the domicile of Buddha Demchok who s personified as a god of supreme bliss. In Jainism Kailasa is referred as Mount Ashtapada. Rishabha Deva attained Moksha or Nirvana, spiritual liberation at Mount Kailasa.

(Last Updated on : 08/08/2013)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Indian Mountain Ranges  (21)
Recently Updated Articles in Geography of India
Vadodara Airport
Vadodara Airport is a civilian airport located in the north-east of Vadodara, Gujarat in the suburb of Harni.
Porbandar Airport
Porbandar Airport is a public airport in Porbandar, Gujarat.
Himalayan Mountain Range
Himalayan Mountain Range is the highest mountain range in Asia that separates India from the Tibetan plateau. It is known as the King of mountains.
Dibrugarh Airport
Dibrugarh Airport is a domestic airport located in the Dibrugarh city in the Indian state of Assam.
Forum on Geography of India
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Kailasa, Indian Mountain Range - Informative & researched article on Kailasa, Indian Mountain Range
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.