Malayalam Language Newspapers - Informative & researched article on Malayalam Language Newspapers
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Indian Media > Malayalam Language Newspapers
Malayalam Language Newspapers
Malayalam Language Newspapers are published in several cities of Kerala. The first Malayalam Newspaper was published in the year 1887.
More on Malayalam Language Newspapers (4 Articles)
 Malayalam Language NewspapersMalayalam language newspapers are widely circulated in the southern region of the country. Malayalam language is one of the most widely spoken languages in South India. Malayalam language newspapers have a rich history of more than 120 years and they are mainly published from the major cities like Kozhikode, Kottayam, Kochi, Kannur, Thrissur, Thiruvananthapuram, Malappuram, etc. The Malayalam language newspapers are published in different editions - morning, afternoon and evening editions and these include local, national and international news for the Malayalam speaking people. One of the first Malayalam language newspapers was Deepika. Started on 15th April, 1887, Deepika propagated the ideas of patriotism and encouraged the people to fight against British rulers. It shifted ownership from the Syro Malabar Church, Kerala, to Rashtra Deepika Ltd in 1989. The newspaper is published from Kochi, Kannur, Thiruvananthapuram, Kottayam, Kozhikode and Thrissur. Malayala Manorama is another old newspaper published in Malayalam language and it started its journey only a year after Deepika. First published in 1988, Malayala Manorama has established itself as one of the most credible newspapers in Kerala. In 2007, Malayala Manorama crossed 15 lac copies mark, becoming the only regional newspaper to do so.

After Deepika and Malaya Manorama, many more Malayalam language newspapers came into existence during the earlier half of the twentieth century. These newspapers include Kerala Kaumudi (1911), Mathrubhumi (1923), Chandrika (1934), Desabhimani (1942), Janmabhumi (1977), etc. Kerala Kaumudi was established by K. Sukumaran BA and C. V. Kunhiraman in 1911. The daily is published from Kollam, Kannur, Thiruvananthapuram, Kozhikode, Alappuzha, Bengaluru and Kochi. K. P. Kesava Menon, a freedom fighter, founded Mathrubhumi in 1923 in Kozhikode (Calicut). Presently, Mathrubhumi is the most distributed newspaper and has a readership of 94,44,000, according to the Indian Readership Survey 2009 . Mathrubhumi is published from Thiruvananthapuram, Kannur, Calicut, Kottayam, Palakkad, Kollam, Malappuram, Kochi, Thrissur, Thrissur, and also form Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru and Chennai.

The ownership pattern of most of the Malayalam language newspapers was private ownership before independence. The newspapers also had a common view of aggression against the British rulers and promoted patriotism before country's independence. However, both the ownership pattern and point of views of the newspapers changed after independence. But post independence, the newspapers started to give more emphasis on the burning issues of the country like eliminating poverty from the country, spreading the light of education to the remote areas, improving the condition of the underdeveloped sections of the society, etc.

There are numerous newspapers published in Malayalam language in and around the state of Kerala. The most popular Malayalam language newspapers include Deepika, Malayala Manorama, Kerala Kaumudi, Mathrubhumi, Chandrika, Desabhimani, Janmabhumi, Grihasree, Madhyamam, Sirajdaily, Thejas, Varthamanam, etc. Apart from these, there are also a few other publications like weekly and monthly magazines, published in Malayalam language. Most of the Malayalam language newspapers have been serving the society for the past several years and many new newspapers have also started their journey in the recent few years. The contribution of several renowned journalists helped the Malayalam language newspapers in reaching new heights.

(Last Updated on : 22/02/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Indian Media  (46)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India is an independent constitutional authority. It is responsible for the superintendence, direction and control of preparation of electoral rolls for, and the conduct of, elections to Parliament and State Legislatures and elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President of India. OP Rawat has been appointed as Election Commissioner of India
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
A.P.J Abdul Kalam is a man of letters and was the 11th President of India. He was a scientist by profession and made successful break through in the field of scientific innovations.
All India Services
All India Services are the three civil services of India, comprising of the IAS, IPS, and the IFS. These are the prestigious jobs under Government of India.
Reorganisation of Assam
Reorganisation of Assam was far more a difficult task and violent process than elsewhere at that time because the central government faced explicit, unequivocal secessionist demands from non Hindu tribal groups.
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Malayalam Language Newspapers - Informative & researched article on Malayalam Language Newspapers
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.