Languages of Andhra Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Languages of Andhra Pradesh
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Languages

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Languages > Languages of South India > Languages of Andhra Pradesh
Languages of Andhra Pradesh
Telegu is a highly vivid language .Numerous writings and verses were composed in this language.
 Languages of Andhra PradeshIndia comprises of different linguistic communities, each sharing a common language of their own. The Indian languages belong to four classes of languages: Mon-Khmer, Sino-Tibetan, Indo-European, Dravidian. These languages are grouped on the basis of geographical locations in India. In Andhra Pradesh Telegu is the official language. In October 1953 the state was constituted and Telegu was acknowledged with this status .

Telugu also is one of the 23 official languages of India. Besides, Kolami, another language of Dravidian group, is also widely used in Andhra region. Telegu is a highly vivid language .Numerous writings and verses were composed in this language. The classical music of South India, namely the Carnatic music, also makes an ample use of it.The subtleties of the language emphasizes the language's profundity. Telegu is an exceptionally robust language and is highly moulded by Sanskrit influence.Like all other South Indian languages it also belongs to the category of Dravidian language .

The Dravidian languages topped the list of the most widely spoken languages in India only after Hindi . It is also one of the twenty-three national languages of India; and amongst the Dravidian languages Telegu is mostly spoken by the people. Telugu had its origin from the 'Proto-Dravidian language', which is a part of the 'south-central family'. Between 1500 BCE and 900 BCE it likely got split from Proto-Dravidian language. It belongs to the subfamily of the South-central Dravidian language. It is also lingually similar to Gondi, Konda, Kui and all the other languages of this group.Etymologically, the word Telegu is is not cognised. It is perhaps deduced from 'trilinga', as found in 'Trilinga Desa', meaning 'the country of the three lingas'.

The development of Telegu language can be divided into four stages: '200 BCE - 500 CE; 500 CE - 1100 CE; 1100 CE - 1400 CE; 1400 CE - 1900 CE;1900 CE to date.'Telugu language is scripted from left to right and comprises of 'sequences of simple and/or complex characters'.The Usage of words that are considered to be abusive in Hindi and Urdu languages are prohibited in Telegu language of Andhra Pradesh including Telengana region.

(Last Updated on : 13/11/2013)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Languages of South India  (4)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Languages
Munda Language
Munda Language is usually spoken in the central-eastern parts of the country. This Indian tribal language belongs to the Austro-Asiatic tribal language family. It is also spoken in the neighbouring country of Bangladesh.
Telugu is the official language of the Indian state Andhra Pradesh and has a Dravidian origin.
Official languages of India
Official languages of India includes Hindi, Urdu, Marathi, Oriya, English, Punjabi, Bengali, Konkani, Gujarati, etc.
Kharosthi Script
Kharosthi script had much to do with emperor Ashoka, who made use of this style in his Rock Edicts.
Forum on Indian Languages
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Languages of Andhra Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Languages of Andhra Pradesh
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.