Sannyasa , Vedic Ashram System - Informative & researched article on Sannyasa , Vedic Ashram System
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesHistory of India

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > History of India > Ancient History of India > Vedic Civilisation in India > Four Stages of Vedic Life > Sannyasa
Sannyasa , Vedic Ashram System
Sannyasa is the ultimate stage of one`s life according to Hindu Dharma
 Sannyasa , Vedic Ashram SystemSannyasa is the last of the four stages of life. According to ManuSmriti at this stage man renunciates his family and the world and adopts Bairagya. The motto of his life, thus, is complete detachment from worldly affairs. Sannyasa begins at the of 50 years. So what do a man do after renouncing everything! Hindu Dharma answers, that after 50 years his spiritual quest begins. In Hinduism an ascetic is a person who has no desires and ambitions. He exists without even thinking about his existence. He is completely devoted to the God and only aspires for attaining Holy bliss.

As a sanyasi a man will have no belongings and his only goal will be to attain moksha. In the Bhagavat Gita this is how Lord Krishna describes sannyasa: - "The giving up of activities that are based on material desire is what great learned men call the renounced order of life. And giving up the results of all activities is what the wise call renunciation." There are several ways in which sanyasis can lead their life. They can practice yoga, meditate or take part in other forms of Bhakti traditions like praying to a particular god or goddess they believe in. all they are looking for at this stage of life is becoming one with the Supreme Power of the universe.

Though the concept of Sannyasa is not alien to other religions yet there are fundamental differences. The Buddhist monks are equivalent to Hindu sanyasis. While the former resides in an abbey or monastery the latter is all-alone. He is a wanderer. The sanyasi is all-alone in finding the way that will unite him with the Divine. Hence the concept of monasticism is quite prevalent in Hinduism.

Sannyasa can be further divided into 4 types.
1. Vidvat- This springs from true wisdom.
2. Vividisha - This is born out from a craving for self-realization by studying holy texts.
3. Aatura - This is dawned upon man`s deathbed.
4. Markata - When people resort to Sannyasa to escape from grief, suffering and misfortune.

Sannyasa Dharma, in a way, also prepares man for his death

(Last Updated on : 10/07/2013)
More Articles in Four Stages of Vedic Life  (6)
Recently Updated Articles in History of India
Literature under Gupta Empire
Literature under Gupta Empire drew their themes from epics and dealt with familiar narratives, some were treated in courtly style and subjected to literary virtuosity of many kinds.
Moderates, a branch of the Congress, believed that India needed a balanced representation of their needs before the British Government. Moderates believed in gradual progress with the help of Constitutional means.
Adil Shahi Dynasty of Bijapur
The governor of Bijapur Yusuf Adil Khan founded the Adil Shahi Dynasty of Bijapur. In 1489.
Kakatiya Dynasty of Warangal
The Kakatiya Dynasty was one among the great dynasties of South India famous for their herioic kingship.
Kakatiya Dynasty
Kakatiya Dyanasty has been acknowledged as one of the great Telegu kingdoms that had ruled from 1083CE to 1323CE.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on History of India
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Sannyasa , Vedic Ashram System - Informative & researched article on Sannyasa , Vedic Ashram System
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.