Mathrubhumi, Malayalam Language Newspaper - Informative & researched article on Mathrubhumi, Malayalam Language Newspaper
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Indian Media > Malayalam Language Newspapers > Mathrubhumi
Mathrubhumi, Malayalam Language Newspaper
Mathrubhumi, a Malayalam newspaper founded by K. P. Kesava Menon, played crucial roles in the social reformation movements like Vaikom Satyagraha and Guruvayur Satyagraha.
 Mathrubhumi, Malayalam Language Newspaper Mathrubhumi is a Malayalam language newspaper published from Kozhikode in Kerala. The newspaper is regarded as one of the most prominent and influencing newspapers in the state of Kerala. Mathrubhumi was first published on 18th March, 1923. The founder of the Malayalam language newspaper was the renowned freedom fighter, K. P. Kesava Menon and it is being published by The Mathrubhumi Group. The newspaper has played crucial roles in various important social reformation movements like Vaikom Satyagraha and Guruvayur Satyagraha. Some of its renowned publications include Mathrubhumi daily, Baalabhumi, Grihalakshmi, Thozhilvartha, Chithrabhumi, Vidyarangam etc.

History of Mathrubhumi
Mathrubhumi was established in the year 1923 in the repercussion of Non-Cooperation Movement of Mahatma Gandhi as a Public Limited Company. The founders of Mathrubhumi belonged to the Indian National Congress party, and were led by K.P. Kesava Menon. Being established by a freedom fighter, the newspaper was dedicated to propagate nationalist ideals and promote patriotism among the Indian youth. The founder of the newspaper, K. P. Kesava Menon was arrested and sent to jail for participating in the Satyagraha movement. After him, the newspaper was edited by many eminent personalities in Malayalam journalism like P. Ramanunni Nair, K. Kelappan, P. Narayanan Nair, C. H. Kunjappa, K. A. Damodara Menon, A. P. Udhayabhanu, etc. Apart from them, several prominent Malayalam journalists were also associated with Mathrubhumi at some point of their career.

Mathrubhumi was published thrice in a week (Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday), during its initial years. However, it became a daily newspaper from 6th April, 1930. It started its journey with only one edition published from Kozhikode. The second edition of the newspaper was published on 25th May, 1962 and was published from Kochi. As the popularity of Mathrubhumi increased gradually, the newspaper introduced new editions in regular intervals. It entered into magazine journalism and launched the Mathrubhumi Illustrated Weekly on 18th January, 1932. The Mathrubhumi Group launched a comic magazine named Viswaroopam in 1940 and then published a bi-monthly in Hindi language, named Yugaprabhat. Sanjayan was the Chief Editor of Viswaroopam. The Editor of Yugaprabhat was N. V. Krishna Warrier. However, none of these publications are published at present.

Development of Mathrubhumi
Mathrubhumi now has 13 editions published from different cities inside and outside Kerala. The 9 editions of Mathrubhumi in Kerala are published from the publication centres in Calicut, Thiruvananthapuram, Kottayam, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Kannur, Palakkad, Malappuram, and Kollam. Apart from these, there are also another 4 editions of Mathrubhumi published from the cities like Chennai, Bengaluru, Mumbai and Delhi. The newspaper has a total circulation of more than 1.3 million and around 7.5 million readers.

The current Chairman and Managing Director of Mathrubhumi is M. P. Veerendra Kumar. The newspaper's Managing Editor is P. V. Chandran and M. Kesava Menon is serving as the Editor of Mathrubhumi daily.

Publications of Mathrubhumi
Apart from the Mathrubhumi daily, the Mathrubhumi Group also has several other publications. These publications include:
* A children's publication named Baalabhumi (started on 1st May, 1996);
* A Women's publication named Grihalakshmi (started on 1st July, 1979);
* A film publication named Chithrabhumi (started on 11th April, 1982);
* An opportunities publication named Thozhilvartha (started on 18th July, 1992);
* The health publication named Arogyamasika (started on 19th February, 1997);
* Mathrubhumi Azhchappathippu (Weekly), an educational publication named Mathrubhumi Successline;
* The educational publication in Malayalam named Mathrubhumi Vidyarangam;
* A sports publication in Malayalam named Mathrubhumi Sports Masika (started on 15th June, 1994);
* Mathrubhumi Yearbook Plus, in Malayalam and English; and
* A travel magazine named Mathrubhumi Yathra;
* There is an online publication of Mathrubhumi and a separate section for pre-primary/lower primary kids, called Mathrubhumi Minnaminni as well as Mathrubhumi Cartoon Plus.

Mathrubhumi has already established itself as one of the largest circulated newspapers in Kerala, by the course of time. The newspaper has also gained significant recognition among the Keralites of all parts of the society. It is referred to as one of the most powerful Malayalam language newspapers as well.

(Last Updated on : 29/11/2012)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Malayalam Language Newspapers  (4)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India is an independent constitutional authority. It is responsible for the superintendence, direction and control of preparation of electoral rolls for, and the conduct of, elections to Parliament and State Legislatures and elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President of India. OP Rawat has been appointed as Election Commissioner of India
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
A.P.J Abdul Kalam is a man of letters and was the 11th President of India. He was a scientist by profession and made successful break through in the field of scientific innovations.
All India Services
All India Services are the three civil services of India, comprising of the IAS, IPS, and the IFS. These are the prestigious jobs under Government of India.
Reorganisation of Assam
Reorganisation of Assam was far more a difficult task and violent process than elsewhere at that time because the central government faced explicit, unequivocal secessionist demands from non Hindu tribal groups.
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Mathrubhumi, Malayalam Language Newspaper - Informative & researched article on Mathrubhumi, Malayalam Language Newspaper
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.