Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra Pradesh
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Temples

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Temples > Indian Regional Temples > South Indian Temples > Temples of Andhra Pradesh > Temples of Kurnool District
Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra Pradesh
Temples of Kurnool District is dedicated to Lord Shiva. Only one temple is there that is dedicated to Lord Vishnu.
More on Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra Pradesh (1 Articles)
 Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra PradeshTemples of Kurnool District are many. Most of the temples are dedicated to Lord Shiva. The remaining one temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. There are some notable temples.

Papanaseswara Aalayam Temple
This temple is located in Alampur. The deity of this temple is Lord Shiva. It enshrines the Navabrahmas in the nine Aalayas built in the North Indian style, like curvilinear towers. It also houses one of the Sakthipithas, and boasts of Sivaalayas and Vaishnavate temples built on the banks of Vedavathi River and Nadavathi, the tributaries of Tungabhadra River. Among the temples the Papanaseswara Swamy Aalayam lies in the middle. Its architectural grandeur is less impressive, but it still has multi-pillared halls and huge mandapams that enshrine many deities.

Ranganatha Temple
Another temple of Kulnoor is Ranganatha Temple in Peravali. The Deity worshipped in the temple is Ranganatha or Lord Vishnu. This temple dates back to ancient times. The emperors of Vijayanagara made many endowments to this historic temple.

Tripurantakeswara Temple
This is another notable temple of Kurnool situated in Tripurantantakam. This temple is dedicated to Tripurantaka or Lord Shiva. The temple is built on a hillock. This shrine is dedicated to Shiva and is regarded as the Eastern gate to Sreesailam and is a very ancient temple.

Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra PradeshSangameswara Temple
The centuries-old Sangameswara temple is situated at the confluence of the Krishna River and the Bhavanasi near Muchumarri in Kurnool district. Nivruthi Sangameswaram has great spiritual significance because of its antiquity and the fact that the temple stands at the confluence. The shrine finds a prominent place in Skanda Purana. The temple deity is Lord Shiva.

Alampur Navbrahma Temples
The main temple is a cluster of shrines dedicated to the Nava Brahmas. It is situated inside a fortress and resembles the Papanatha temple at Pattadakal. The sikharas are curvilinear and decorated with amalakas - decoration at angles that creates a beautiful effect, blending naturally with masonry for the tower.

Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra PradeshAhobala Narasimha Temple
It is a place of great antiquity. As the nine shrines are situated within a radius of five kosa or 10 miles, this Tirtham is also known as Panchakosa Tirtham. This temple lies in the centre of three prakarams, and is built in the Vijayanagara style.

Mahanandi Temple
The temple is at the foothill where a mineral spring flows into the fields from underneath the linga, into the tank in front of the temple. This temple is famous for its curative powers found in the warm tepid mineral water found in the tank in front of the temple.

Srisailam Mallikarjuna Temple
The temple here is known as Mallikarjuna, which is one of the twelve Jyotirlingas. It is located in the forests of the Nallamalai hills, on the Rishabhagiri hill of Kurnool district.

Nava Bhramma Temples
These temples are all enclosed in a courtyard on the left bank of the river Tungabhadra. These are Taraka Bhramma, Swarga Bhramma, Padma Bhramma, Bala Bhramma, Garuda Bhramma, Kumara Bhramma, Arka Bhramma, Vira Bhramma and the Vishwa Bhramma.

(Last Updated on : 02/04/2013)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Temples of Andhra Pradesh  (87)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Temples
Ganapati Temples in India
Ganapati Temples of India reverberate the true energy of religiosity to a great extent, not in the western circle of India, but also in all directions of country.
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple contains a rare icon of Lord Shiva that in a reclining posture, including 18 other deities.
Laxminarayan Temple
Laxminarayan temple is a major pilgrimage and tourist centre in Delhi. The temple was built by B. R. Birla and Jugal Kishore Birla and was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi.
Kukkuteswara Swamy Aalayam Temple
The temple has many shrines dedicated to Sri Rama, Kumara Swamy, Venkateswara Swamy, Venugopala Swamy and Kunti Madhava Swamy.
Forum on Indian Temples
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Temples of Kurnool District, Andhra Pradesh
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.