Temples of Tiruvannamalai District, Tamil Nadu - Informative & researched article on Temples of Tiruvannamalai District, Tamil Nadu
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Temples

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Temples > Indian Regional Temples > South Indian Temples > Temples of Tamil Nadu > Temples of Tiruvannamalai District
Temples of Tiruvannamalai District, Tamil Nadu
Temples of Tiruvannamalai district in Tamil Nadu relate to the past history of the place and its ruling dynasties.
 Temples of Tiruvannamalai district in Tamil Nadu bear the marks of the history of this district. Thiruvannamalai District is surrounded by Vellore District in the north and west, Viluppuram District in the south, Dharmapuri District in the southwest and Kanchipuram District in the east. Thiruvannamalai is one of the most sacred pilgrimages of Hindus. The district was known as 'Thondai Mandalam' since the ancient days and the temples of Tiruvannamalai district reflect the history of the region. Thiruvannamalai and the Arunachaleswara temple located in Thiruvannamalai bear almost a long history from 750 AD.

There are many temples of Tiruvannamalai district; however there are few temples that are of national importance. Arulmigu Subramania Swamy Temple, located on a hilltop, stands on the southern side of Arulmigu Renugambal Temple at A K Padavedu village in Thiruvannamalai District. Lord Muruga with his consorts' goddesses Valli and Devayani happen to be the presiding deities of the temple. The main deity, Lord Muruga is standing with his vehicle, the peacock. Kavadi and milk abhishek are the major offerings at this shrine during auspicious days. Devotees take a flight of 300 stairs to reach this holy temple and enjoy the magnificent glimpses of the sunset and expanses of green from top of the hill.

Ambujavalli Nayikaa Samedha Lakshmi Narayana Temple is one of the popular temples of Tiruvannamalai district and lies about 20 km from Kanchipuram on the way to Vandavasi. The temple was constructed about 700 years back and is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. In the Garbhagriha the east facing presiding deity is in a seated position along with Goddess Lakshmi. The idol of Lord Krishna in the Kalinga Nardhana pose is also seen here. Devotees believe that worshiping at this temple is equivalent to visiting Shri Venkateshwara Temple at Tirupati. Ambujavalli Nayikaa Samedha Lakshmi Narayana Temple is situated in Akkur village, Thiruvannamalai District.

Periyanayaki Amman Temple is one of the temples of Tiruvannamalai district that is famous for its architectural excellence. Located at Devikapuram town in Thiruvannamalai District, this temple is dedicated to Devi Parvati, divine consort of Lord Shiva. The temple, situated at the foot of a hill, occupies a vast area with a 150 feet high Rajagopuram and nine kalashams. Aathonda Cholan built the temple with beautiful carvings at the entrance. The deity is in standing posture with her four arms in abhaya, varadhakolam. The goddess is also known by the name Sribrugathambal. The devotees can see the sacred feet of Periyanayaki in the sanctum, which is believed to be the place where she performed penance.

Arulmigu Mathurakali Amman and Vedappar Swamy Temple are the two prominent temples of Tiruvannamalai district. They are situated on the Thirukovilur-Thiruvannamalai Road at Shanthi Nagar in one complex is managed by Vedappar Swamy Trust. Arulmigu Mathurakali Amman Temple is dedicated to Mathurakali Amman, a unique manifestation of goddess Kali. The other temple has the shrines of Lord Muruga in the form of Vedappar Swamy with Valli and Theivanai as the presiding deities.

Other than the mentioned ones, Panduranga Rukumayi Temple, Ponmalainathar Temple, Mundeeswarar Temple, Arulmigu Venugopala Swamy Temple, Idaiyattrunathar Temple, Araiyaninayagar Temple, Arulmigu Vel Murugan Temple are some of the revered temples of Tiruvannamalai district in Tamil Nadu.

(Last Updated on : 09/07/2012)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Temples of Tamil Nadu  (491)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Temples
Shrine of Shah Hafiz Ullah
Shrine of Shah Hafiz` ullah located in Rajasthan has been built during the Muslim period.
Ganapati Temples in India
Ganapati Temples of India reverberate the true energy of religiosity to a great extent, not in the western circle of India, but also in all directions of country.
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple contains a rare icon of Lord Shiva that in a reclining posture, including 18 other deities.
Laxminarayan Temple
Laxminarayan temple is a major pilgrimage and tourist centre in Delhi. The temple was built by B. R. Birla and Jugal Kishore Birla and was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi.
Forum on Indian Temples
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Temples of Tiruvannamalai District, Tamil Nadu - Informative & researched article on Temples of Tiruvannamalai District, Tamil Nadu
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.