Temples of Hyderabad District - Informative & researched article on Temples of Hyderabad District
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Temples

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Temples > Indian Regional Temples > South Indian Temples > Temples of Telangana > Temples of Hyderabad District
Temples of Hyderabad District
Temples of Hyderabad District has a close relation with Shaivaism. The chief deity of this temple is Lord Shiva or Mahadeva.
More on Temples of Hyderabad District (1 Articles)
 Temples of Hyderabad DistrictTemples of Hyderabad District are dedicated to Lord Shiva or Mahadeva, Lord Lakshmi Narasimha Swami and Lord Venkateswara respectively. Hyderabad is a land of temples. A famous land of the devotees from all over India visit Hyderabad to see the temples, mosques, etc. Some of the famous temples of Hyderabad District are Visweswaraalayam Temple, Yadagiri Gutta Temple, Birla Mandir at Hyderabad and many other temples. Other temples in this district are Ranganatha Swami Temple, Sri Subrahmanya Swamy Devalayam, Skandagiri, Akkanna Madanna Temple, Ujjaini Mahankali Temple (more than 200 years old), Sanghi Temple, Ashtalakshmi Temple of Hyderabad, Katta Maisamma Temple.

Visweswaraalayam Temple
This temple is mentioned in the sthalapuranas as Bimbavathipura, Somasekharapura, and Vyakhyanagara etc. This is located near a holy well Kasibugga. This water is called apara Gangajala and the Shivalinga, apara Kasi Visweswara linga. Hence this place is named Dakshinakasi. Many ponds are found here and so it is called Kolanupaka. The linga is self- manifested and is called Kotilinga. It is four and a half feet in height, and four feet in circumference. It is adorned with thousand of small lingas carved around it forming a chain. This linga is mentioned in the puranas appeared as a gold linga in Kritayuga, silver in Treta Yuga, copper in Dwapara yuga and granite in Kaliyuga. This temple was built by King Kumara Someswara of Kalyani Chalukya dynasty. The temple is at Kolanupaka, 25 km off Bhuvanagiri.

Yadagiri Gutta Temple
Yadagiri Gutta enshrines Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swami as the central deity. Festival: The annual Brahmautsava Festival is conducted with great extravagance. The temple fair is held between the months of March - April.

Birla Mandir
Birla Mandir is a modern temple built in white marble on a hill. It was consecrated in 1976. The architecture of the temple is a mix of architectural styles. The Rajagopuram is found at the main entrance. The vimana towers over the main shrine and is called the Jagadananda vimanam and is built in Orissa (Odisha) style while the towers over the consort shrine are built in the South Indian style. The brass flagstaff is 42 feet high. The granite image is 11 feet tall with a carved lotus as an umbrella over the image. Many marble carvings can be seen around. The "Mukha Mandapam" walls depict scenes from Indian mythology. There are shrines dedicated to Venkateswara Padmavathi and Andal.

Shyam Temple
Shyam Temple is a beautiful temple dedicated to Lord Shyam aka Barbarika. He is the reincarnation of Lord Krishna in Kal Yuga. Shyam Temple attracts lots of devotees daily but the 11th and 12th days of the bright half of every month in the Hindu calendar is of special significance to the temple. This is because Barbarika was born on the 11th day of the bright half of the month of Kartika, and he donated his head ("Sheesh") to Lord Krishna on the 12th day of the bright half of the month of Mangsir on Monday.

Chennakeshava Swamy Temple
Chennakeshava Swamy Temple is located on a hillock in Keshavagiri of Chandrayangutta area. This temple is pointed out around 1 km from Falaknuma Railway station and 5 km from Charminar. This is a very old self-manifested temple. The rituals are done in accordance with Vaikhanasa and Pancharatra Agamam. There are sub-temples of Chennakeshava Swamy Temple of Andal, Alwars and four-armed Anjaneyaswamy.

(Last Updated on : 08/11/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Temples of Telangana  (30)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Temples
Ganapati Temples in India
Ganapati Temples of India reverberate the true energy of religiosity to a great extent, not in the western circle of India, but also in all directions of country.
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple contains a rare icon of Lord Shiva that in a reclining posture, including 18 other deities.
Laxminarayan Temple
Laxminarayan temple is a major pilgrimage and tourist centre in Delhi. The temple was built by B. R. Birla and Jugal Kishore Birla and was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi.
Kukkuteswara Swamy Aalayam Temple
The temple has many shrines dedicated to Sri Rama, Kumara Swamy, Venkateswara Swamy, Venugopala Swamy and Kunti Madhava Swamy.
Forum on Indian Temples
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Temples of Hyderabad District - Informative & researched article on Temples of Hyderabad District
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.