Election Commission of India - Informative & researched article on Election Commission of India
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Constitution of India > Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India is an independent constitutional authority. It is responsible for the superintendence, direction and control of preparation of electoral rolls for, and the conduct of, elections to Parliament and State Legislatures and elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President of India. OP Rawat has been appointed as Election Commissioner of India
More on Election Commission of India (1 Articles)
 Election Commission of IndiaElection Commission of India is a constitutional body which is responsible for the maintenance of the electoral procedure in the country. The Constitution of India has vested in the Election Commission of India the superintendence, direction and control of the entire process for conduct of elections to Parliament and Legislature of every State and to the offices of President and Vice-President of India. Election Commission of India is a permanent Constitutional Body. It was established in accordance with the Constitution on 25th January 1950.

Composition of Election Commission of India
Originally the commission had only a Chief Election Commissioner. It currently consists of Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners. For the first time two additional Commissioners were appointed on 16th October 1989 but they had a very short tenure till 1st January 1990. Later, on 1st October 1993 two additional Election Commissioners were appointed. The concept of multi-member Commission has been in operation since then, with decision making power by majority vote.

Appointment and Tenure of Commissioners
The Indian President appoints Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners. They have tenure of six years, or up to the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.Election Commission of India They enjoy the same status and receive salary and perks as available to Judges of the Supreme Court of India. The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office only through impeachment by the Indian Parliament.

Functions of Election Commission of India
Plenary powers vested in the Commission under Article 324 are supplemented further by Acts of Parliament, namely, Representation of the People Act, 1950 and 1951, Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act 1952, Government of Union Territories Act 1965, Delhi Administration Act 1966 and the rules and orders made under them. It is responsible for planning and executing a whole range of complex operations that are required for conducting elections.

The Duties of the Commission are:
(a) to superintend, direct and control the preparation of electoral rolls;
(b) to conduct elections/bye-elections for Parliament, State Assemblies, and the offices of the President and Vice- President;
(c) to receive election petitions challenging the validity of elections and appoint tribunals to enquire into them;
(d) to examine the returns of election expenses filed by the candidates; and
(e) to entertain and decide the applications for removal of such disqualifications. Election Commission of India

The Commission also functions as a quasi-judiciary body in case of electoral disputes and other matters involving the conduct of elections.

Independence of Election Commission of India
Independence of the Election Commission and its insulation from executive interference is ensured by a specific provision under Article 324(5) of the Constitution that the Chief Election Commissioner shall not be removed from his office except in like manner and on like grounds as a Judge of the Supreme Court and conditions of his service shall not be varied to his disadvantage after his appointment. The other Election Commissioners cannot be removed from office except on recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner.

Political Parties and Election Commission of India
Indian Political Parties are registered with the Election Commission under the law. The Commission ensures inner party democracy in their functioning.Election Commission of India Political Parties so registered with it are granted recognition at the State and National levels by the Election Commission on the basis of their poll performance at general elections according to criteria prescribed by it. The Commission, as a part of its quasi-judicial jurisdiction, also settles disputes between the splinter groups of such recognised parties. Election Commission ensures a level playing field for the political parties in election fray, through strict observance by them of a Model Code of Conduct evolved with the consensus of political parties. The Commission holds periodical consultations with the political parties on matters connected with the conduct of elections; compliance of Model Code of Conduct and new measures proposed to be introduced by the Commission on election related matters.

Election Commissioner of India
OP Rawat has been appointed as Election Commissioner of India in the year 2015.
S.No. Name From To
1 Sukumar Sen March 21,1950 December 19,1958
2 Kalyan Sundaram 1958 1967
3 S. P. Sen Verma 1967 1972
4 Dr. Nagendra Singh 1972 1973
5 T. Swaminathan 1973 1977
13 T. S. Krishnamurthy 2004 2005
14 B. B. Tandon 2005 2006
15 N. Gopalaswami 2006 2009
16 Navin Chawla 2009 2010
17 S. Y. Quraishi 2010 2012
18 V. S. Sampath 2012 2015
19 Harishankar Brahma 2015 2015

(Last Updated on : 15/09/2015)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Constitution of India  (29)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
A.P.J Abdul Kalam is a man of letters and was the 11th President of India. He was a scientist by profession and made successful break through in the field of scientific innovations.
All India Services
All India Services are the three civil services of India, comprising of the IAS, IPS, and the IFS. These are the prestigious jobs under Government of India.
Reorganisation of Assam
Reorganisation of Assam was far more a difficult task and violent process than elsewhere at that time because the central government faced explicit, unequivocal secessionist demands from non Hindu tribal groups.
Linguistic Reorganisation of States
Linguistic Reorganisation of States in India was far more prolonged and divisive than the controversy over the official language of India and raised more fundamental questions of center-state relations.
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Election Commission of India - Informative & researched article on Election Commission of India
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.