Saurashtra Cricket Association - Informative & researched article on Saurashtra Cricket Association
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Cricket

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Traditional Sports|Indian Hockey|Indian Cricket|Indian Tennis|Indian Football|Chess|Athletics
Home > Sports > Indian Cricket > Indian Cricket Associations > Saurashtra Cricket Association
Saurashtra Cricket Association
Saurashtra Cricket Association have created a glorious niche in the history of Indian Cricket, with its stupendous role, contribution and achievement in the game.
 Saurashtra Cricket AssociationSaurashtra Cricket Association is the administrative body for Cricket activities in the Saurashtra region of the state of Gujarat in India and the Saurashtra cricket team. It is also affiliated to the Board of Control for Cricket in India, who is the parent body or the governing set up for the game of Cricket in Saurashtra, and also conducting matches ranging from grass root level to international levels.

The Saurashtra Cricket Association develops and also promotes the game of Cricket by conducting various League Tournaments, Tournaments for the age group Under-13, Under-15, Under-17, and Under-19, Under-22 and Under-25 categories besides organising and conducting National Tournaments.

Saurashtra Cricket Association: Overview
Saurashtra Cricket AssociationThe chronicles of history of Indian cricket shows the role, achievements and contribution of Saurashtrians towards the game of cricket in India. The team from Saurashtra have successfully created a niche for themselves. During the days of Ramji and Amar Singh, who were from backward society, but made extraordinary contribution to the game. Greats from princely state like Duleep Singh and Ranjit Singh and therafter Vinoo Mankad earned internal fame and name for themselves. These are legendary names that have successfully created a name for themselves in national and international circuit. Even after so many years since the glorious past, Saurashtrians still continue to contribute significantly to the prestige and popularity of Indian cricket. It captivates the fervour and interest of the people of every age.

The Saurashtra Cricket Association has, over the years, taken serious care of spirit, interest and passion of its players. And it has and is still working towards supporting cricket in the local regions and promoting the game to the areas where it has not reached yet. SCA is completely committed to promote cricket and the budding cricketers in the best possible manner and to strengthen infra-structural facilities of all affiliated associations.

SCA, elected its first Hony. Secretary in the form of Niranjan Shah in 1972-73 and thereafter has been re-elected continuously unchallenged for said office. He has been the pivotal force behind the transformation of cricket facilities in the recent years. With serious efforts and enterprise Niranjan Shah, along with his team of governing officials have efficiently and successfully hosted and managed prestigious One Day International matches at Rajkot. Apart from this, SCA has been managing many popular domestic tournaments and league matches.

Saurashtra Cricket Association: History
The game of cricket has been played in the region since the British rule in India. The game was first introduced by military and civil officers connected with the British Agency. This province was named Kathiawar, however, the official name in the record book shows the name as Saurashtra or its abbreviated name Sorath. The game of cricket was first played in schools and colleges in the region. These schools and colleges had their own cricket teams in their curriculum. This helped to grow interest among the people.

People like Ranjitsinhji and Duleepsinhji, who were students of Rajkumar College, Rajkot, became Cricket Legends when they went on to play cricket for Cambridge University, Sussex and England.

The BCCI was formed in December 1929 and Saurashtra Cricket Association was set up in the year 1950 - 51, and ever since the Association is functioning as Cricket Authority in the region of Gujarat. Saurashtra Cricket Association has played 250 matches from 1934-35 to 2004-2005.

Up to 1956-57, Ranji Trophy was played on knock out basis and from 1957-58 it was played on a league basis and Saurashtra Team formed one of the teams form West Zone.

(Last Updated on : 21/11/2011)
More Articles in Indian Cricket Associations  (33)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Cricket
Vijay Yadav
Vijay Yadav is a former cricket player of India who played as a wicket keeper in the national cricket team.
Amit Mishra
Amit Mishra is an attacking leg spinner who made his Test cricket debut against Australia and took 5 wickets in the 1st innings.
Narendra Hirwani
Narendra Hirwani is a retired Indian Cricketer, who had a striking debut in Test Cricket and was appointed in the National Selection Panel in 2008
Sanjay Manjrekar
Sanjay Manjrekar is a retired Indian Cricket player and an ace Cricket-Commentator and played his debut Test match against West Indies in 1987.
V B Chandrasekhar
V B Chandrasekhar is a retired Indian cricketer, who played for Tamil Nadu and has established a Cricket Academy after his retirement
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Indian Cricket
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Sports
Saurashtra Cricket Association - Informative & researched article on Saurashtra Cricket Association
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.