Gorakhpur District, Uttar Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Gorakhpur District, Uttar Pradesh
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesStates of India

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
States of India|Indian Cities|Beaches of India|Hill Stations in India|Forests in India
Home > Travel > States of India > Uttar Pradesh > Districts of Uttar Pradesh > Gorakhpur District
Gorakhpur District, Uttar Pradesh
Gorakhpur District, a district of Uttar Pradesh, is known for its cultural and historical importance. Gorakhpur is an important centre of eastern Uttar Pradesh and it is the headquarters of North-Eastern Railway.
More on Gorakhpur District, Uttar Pradesh (1 Articles)
 Gorakhpur District, Uttar PradeshGorakhpur District is one of the administrative districts of Uttar Pradesh. Gorakhpur is the headquarters of Gorakhpur Division and the district. Gorakhpur District is located at around 265 kms east of Lucknow. Gorakhpur District lies between latitude 26 degree 46 minutes north and longitude 83 degree 22 minutes east, covers the geographical area of 3483.8 sq kms. This district is bounded by districts Mahrajganj in the north, Ambedkar Nagar District, Azamgarh District and Mau District in the south, Kushinagar and Deoria District in the east and Sant Kabir Nagar District in the west. Total population of Gorakhpur district as per 2001 Census is 3769456, of which male population is 1923197 and female population is 1846259.

History of Gorakhpur District
Gorakhpur District derived its name from the name of Saint Gorakshnath, profounder of 'Nath Sampradaya'. According to early history, Gorakhpur District formed a part of Koshal Kingdom, one of the sixteen mahajanapadas. Further, it formed a significant part of several dynasties like Maurya Empire, Shunga Dynasty, Kushana Empire, Gupta and Harsha dynasties. Muhammad Ghori also ruled the region. In the year 1801, it was transferred under the control of East India Company and then it was given the status of a separate district. Gorakhpur became the headquarters of Gorakhpur Division in the year 1829.

Gorakhpur District, Uttar Pradesh Administration of Gorakhpur District
Gorakhpur division comprises four districts, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Mahrajganj and Kushinagar. As a basic administration unit Gorakhpur District, has assumed a greater development and regulatory role consequent to emphasis on decentralized planning. Administration of Gorakhpur District is divided into seven Tehsils (Revenue Sub- Divisions) presided over by a Sub Divisional Magistrate. Tehsils are further sub-divided into 19 Development Blocks, Blocks into 191 Panchayats and these Panchayats into 1233 Gram Sabhas which consists of 3319 Revenue villages. The seven tehsils of Gorakhpur District are Sadar, Chauri Chaura, Chauri Chaura, Sahjanwa, Khajni, Campierganj, Bansgaon and Gola. The 19 development blocks of the administrative set-up of Gorakhpur District are Jungle Kauria, Charganwa, Bhathat, Khorabar, Pipraich, Sardar Nagar, Brahmpur, Sahjanwa, Pali, Piprauli, Khajni, Belghat, Campierganj, Bansgaon, Kauriram, Gagaha, Gola, Barhalganj and Uruva.

Education in Gorakhpur District
In Gorakhpur District, education as an integral part of development of human resources has received an impetus with the establishment of the Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University. Progress in educational sphere has been impressive over the years in this district. Gorakhpur has residential University, Engineering College, Medical College, several degree colleges and schools.

Gorakhpur District is well connected with all major cities of the state. Frequent road-transport is available for all major cities of Uttar Pradesh. Air Force Station is 8 kms from the railway station. Daily flights are available from Gorakhpur to Delhi and Kolkata via Lucknow.

(Last Updated on : 10/04/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Districts of Uttar Pradesh  (111)
Recently Updated Articles in States of India
Travel Information on Rajasthan
Travel Information on Rajasthan will come handy for both national and international tourists, who want to visit Rajasthan.
Demography of Rajasthan
Demography of Rajasthan is figured out in the year 2011 with a population of 6.86 Crores.
History of Lakshadweep
History of Lakshadweep defines the first settlement on these islands under the Union Territory of India that was ruled by Cheraman Perumal, who was the last king of Kerala.
Geography of Bharatpur District
Geography of Bharatpur district is marked by its location, a 100 metres above sea level. There are three main seasonal rivers in the district, namely Ban Ganga River, Rooparel and Gambhir River.
Pilgrimage Tourism in Pathanamthitta District
Pilgrimage Tourism in Pathanamthitta District comprises of visiting the various temples and churches situated here. Also known as the ‘headquarters of pilgrimage tourism’, Sabarimala which lies in the district is one of the most revered sites in Kerala.
Forum on States of India
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Travel
Gorakhpur District, Uttar Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Gorakhpur District, Uttar Pradesh
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.