Temples of Srikakulam District, Andhra Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Temples of Srikakulam District, Andhra Pradesh
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Temples

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Temples > Indian Regional Temples > South Indian Temples > Temples of Andhra Pradesh > Temples of Srikakulam District
Temples of Srikakulam District, Andhra Pradesh
Temples in Srikakulam district plays the important role in defining the religiosity of the place.
 Mallikarjunaswamy TempleSrikakulam, formerly known as Chicacole, is the northern most district of Andhra Pradesh, created out of Vishakhapatnam district on August 15, 1950. It is interestingly called as ‘poor man’s Ooty’. The district is not a very affluent one, the chief inhabitants being the tribals. However, Srikakulam is the land of temples. A number of temples in Srikakulam have made their presence felt whilst augmenting the feel of the place. The historic ones, worth mentionable are- the Arasavally Sun Temple, the Srikurman Vishnu Temple (famous for its architectural splendour), Srimukhalingam Temple (of Vajrahasta ruling period), the Shiva Temple of Ravivalasa (also called Endala Mallikarjuna Swamy temple), Neelamani Ammavaru at Pathapatnam, Kotadurga (Palakonda), Kotisvaraswami at Gudiveedhi, Santoshimathaa-Old Srikakulam, Venkateshwara Temple at Gujarathipeta, Mahenderagiri Temple and the Sangameshwara Temple. Some of the Buddhist shrines to count on are- Salihundam, Danthavarapukota and Jagatimetta. Srikakulam was under the rule of the illustrious Kalinga kingdom, augmenting the beauty of the temple masonry, most of them belonging to the 7th or 10th century, having associations with the Mahabharata and Ramayana. Some of the Buddhist religious constructions were built during 2nd century AD. Thus the different temples of Srikakulam reflect the pious ethnicity of the place.

Endala Mallikarjunaswamy Aalayam Temple
Location: Ravivalasa, Srikakulam
Deity: Lord Shiva
This temple has no top and no entrance and has a big linga with no doors at the garba griha. Lord Paramasiva is said to rush to the rescue of His devotees. The presiding deity - Mallikarjuna, is the local name of Lord Siva who is exposed to the sun always, hence the name of Endala Mallikarjuna Swamy. It is 15km off Tekkali of Srikakulam.

Srikurmam Temple
The temple was originally Saivite, but was changed to Vaishnavite by Sri Ramanujacharya. This is the only important temple dedicated to Lord Vishnu in the whole of India. There are several sacred shrines within the temple.

Surya Narayanswamy Temple
This temple is an ancient and powerful temple. The idol of the Lord is carved out of black granite and shows the Lord with two lotuses held in both hands. The God is represented as riding in a chariot drawn by seven horses and driven by Anoora. There is enough historical evidence to show that the temple has existed for a long time.

Mukhalingam Temple
This is a group of three temples built by the Eastern Ganga kings in the 10th century. The deities here are Mukhalingeswara, Bhimeswara and Someswara. All these temples display the Orissa style of architecture.

(Last Updated on : 18/09/2010)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Temples of Andhra Pradesh  (87)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Temples
Ganapati Temples in India
Ganapati Temples of India reverberate the true energy of religiosity to a great extent, not in the western circle of India, but also in all directions of country.
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple
Pallikonda Shivaperuman Aalayam Temple contains a rare icon of Lord Shiva that in a reclining posture, including 18 other deities.
Laxminarayan Temple
Laxminarayan temple is a major pilgrimage and tourist centre in Delhi. The temple was built by B. R. Birla and Jugal Kishore Birla and was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi.
Kukkuteswara Swamy Aalayam Temple
The temple has many shrines dedicated to Sri Rama, Kumara Swamy, Venkateswara Swamy, Venugopala Swamy and Kunti Madhava Swamy.
Forum on Indian Temples
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Temples of Srikakulam District, Andhra Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Temples of Srikakulam District, Andhra Pradesh
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.