Constituent Assembly of India - Informative & researched article on Constituent Assembly of India
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Constitution of India > Constituent Assembly of India
Constituent Assembly of India
Constituent Assembly is the body which was composed to draft the Constitution of India.
 Constituent Assembly of IndiaA Constituent Assembly is a body composed for the purpose of drafting or adopting a Constitution. It played an important role in creating the Constitution of India. The Constituent Assembly of India was set up by the Indian leaders and members of the British Cabinet Mission. It was formed by the elected members of the provincial assemblies of India which was presided over by Dr. Sachidanand Sinha, who was the temporary chairman of the Assembly.

In the Constituent Assembly of India there were members from the Congress as well as from Muslim League. There were also members from the Scheduled Caste Federation, the Communist Party of India and Unionist party in the Constituent Assembly. The Constituent Assembly of India included sections of Christians, Anglo-Indians and Minority Community. The final Constituent Assembly of India had two hundred and seven representatives, including fifteen women. There were about ninety three members nominated from the princely states and The Congress secured a huge majority

The members of the Constituent Assembly of India were chosen by indirect election by the members of the Provincial Legislative Assemblies which was according to the recommendation of the Cabinet Mission. The Cabinet Missions stated that: There should be 292 members were elected through the Provincial Legislative Assemblies; 93 members represented the Indian Princely States; and 4 members represented the Chief Commissioners' Provinces. The total membership of the Assembly thus was to be 389.

Constituent Assembly of India Dr. Rajendra Prasad became the President of the Assembly. Harendra Coomar Mookerjee was the Minority Community Chairman. . While H P Modi served as the representative of the Parsi community, Frank Anthony headed the Anglo-Indian section of the country in the Constituent Assembly. Quite a large number of female personalities were also present in the Constituent Assembly in India including Vijaylakshmi Pandit and Sarojini Naidu. Jawaharlal Nehru, C. Rajagopalachari, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad and Shyama Prasad Mukherjee were some important figures in the Assembly.

The members of the Constituent Assembly met for the first time in the year 1946 on December 9. On August 15, 1947, India became an independent nation, and the Constituent Assembly served as the first Parliament of India. The Constituent Assembly took almost three years to complete the task of drafting the Constitution for Independent India. During this period, it held eleven sessions. Various Committees were formed in the Constituent Assembly of India. Dr. B.R Ambedkar was the chairman of the drafting committee in the Constituent Assembly of India.

(Last Updated on : 22/04/2014)
More Articles in Constitution of India  (29)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
Murli Deora
Murli Deora was an Indian politician and a well known face in Congress Party. He belonged to the Indian National Congress. He was Union Minister of Corporate Affairs.
National Bravery Awards
National Bravery Awards for children are among the most esteemed civil awards given to children of the country for the acts of bravery.
Bharat Ratna
Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India and is given for the highest degree of service to the nation. The award was established by the India’s first President Rajendra Prasad.
Hindi Language Newspapers
Hindi Language Newspapers contributed significantly in the freedom struggle of the country. The origin of Hindi Language Newspapers can be traced back to India’s struggle for independence when it helped in awakening the masses.
Arun Jaitley
Arun Jaitley, a man of hard work and position, is now serving as a Minister of Finance, Minister of Corporate Affairs and Minister of Information and Broadcasting of India.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Constituent Assembly of India - Informative & researched article on Constituent Assembly of India
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.