Shankar Dayal Sharma , Ninth President of India - Informative & researched article on Shankar Dayal Sharma , Ninth President of India
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Personalities

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Government of India > Indian Union Executive > Indian President > Shankar Dayal Sharma
Shankar Dayal Sharma , Ninth President of India
He assumed his final governorship in Maharashtra in 1986 and later was elected for a 5-year term as the Vice-President.
 Shankar Dayal SharmaShankar Dayal Sharma was born on August 19, 1918 and died on December 26, 1999. He was the 9th President of Republic of India serving from 1992 to 1997. Prior to his presidency, Dr. Sharma had been the 8th Vice President of India under President Ramaswamy Venkatraman. He was also Chief Minister of the previous Bhopal State from 1952-1956, Cabinet Minister, Government of Madhya Pradesh, holding the portfolios of Education, Law, Public Works, Industry and Commerce, National Resources and Separate Revenue from 1956-1967. He was thereafter Union Minister for Communications from1974-1977. Dr.Shankar Dayal Sharma was the President of the Indian National Congress in 1972-1974.

Dr. Sharma was born in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. He received his education at St. John`s College, Agra, Allahabad University, Lucknow University, Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge University, Lincoln`s Inn and Harvard Law School. He completed his M.A. Degrees in English Literature, stood first for Hindi and Sanskrit in the University. He obtained his LL.M. from Lucknow University once again standing first in the University. He obtained his Ph.D. in Law at Cambridge.

He has been elected Honorary Bencher and Master of Lincoln`s Inn and Honorary Fellow, Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge. The University of Cambridge has honoured him with degree of Doctor of Law (Honoris Causa). Dr. Sharma was married to Vimala Sharma. Dr. Sharma was awarded the Chakravarti Gold Medal for Social Service by Lucknow University. During the 1940s he was involved in the Indian freedom struggle from Britain, and joined the Indian National Congress, a party which he remained loyal for the rest of his life.

Political Achievements
During the 1960s Sharma supported quest for leadership of the Congress Party. From 1974-77 he served in Indira Gandhi`s cabinet as the minister for Communication. In 1984 he began serving as governor of Indian states, first in Andhra Pradesh. In 1985 he became the governor of Punjab during a time of violence between the Indian government and Sikh militants. He assumed his final governorship in Maharashtra in 1986 and remained governor until 1987. He was elected for a 5-year term as Vice-President of India and chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Sharma was known to be a stickler for parliamentary norms. Shankar Dayal Sharma served as Vice-President until 1992, when he was elected President. During his five-year term, he was active in formal matters and was in charge of dismissing and appointing governors. He did not run for a second term as President. During the last five years of his life, Sharma suffered from ill health. He was cremated near the Vijay Ghat.

(Last Updated on : 15/01/2009)
More Articles in Indian President  (17)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Personalities
Chakravarthi Padmanabhan Ramanujam
Chakravarthi Padmanabhan Ramanujam was a popular Indian Mathematician of the 20th century. C.P Ramanujam is known for his contribution in the field of number theory and algebraic geometry.
Indian Speakers
Indian Speakers are the presiding officers in Lok Sabha. From the time of Independence, Lok Sabha Speakers are playing an important role in monitoring the Members of Parliament during the three sessions.
Prem Kumar Dhumal
Prem Kumar Dhumal is the current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh and belongs to Bharatiya Janata Party. He chaired the post for the same state earlier from 1998 to 2003.
Omar Abdullah
Omar Abdullah is the 11th and youngest Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir. He also remained the Minister of state for External Affairs.
Narayana Murthy
Nagavara Ramarao Narayana Murthy, better known, as Narayana Murthy is one of the founders of Infosys Technologies.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Society
Shankar Dayal Sharma , Ninth President of India - Informative & researched article on Shankar Dayal Sharma , Ninth President of India
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.