Shaurya Chakra - Informative & researched article on Shaurya Chakra
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Indian Armed Forces > Indian Defence Awards > Shaurya Chakra
Shaurya Chakra
Shaurya Chakra is the sixth gallantry award which is awarded for the acts for bravery, courageous action, valour and acts of self sacrifice while not engaged in any direct action with the enemy. Along with Ashok Chakra and Kirti Chakra this is the third decoration which is awarded to both the civilians as well as Army personals.
 Shaurya ChakraShaurya Chakra which is a peacetime award equivalent to Vir Chakra is generally awarded for Counter- Insurgency Operations and actions against the enemy during the peace time It stand third in precedence among the peacetime awards and comes after Ashoka Chakra and Kirti Chakra and precedes Sena medal. Like Kirti chakra this award was also known as Ashok Chakra III which was later modified and altered as Shaurya Chakra after 1967. Subsequently Shaurya Chakra was decorated with a ribbon and a bar which contains the same condition as the other peacetime awards bear. This too shall add a new bar whenever the same act of valour and courage is repeated. Though till now none has been awarded with Shaurya award but it is expected to have same relevance as Vir Chakra in war time has and Kirti Chakra in peace time has.

Shaurya Chakra which was established as Ashok Chakra III by President of India on 4 January 1952 was revised and renamed with new decoration in 1967 when it now came to be known as Shaurya Chakra. The award which is a circular bronze dial with 1- 3/8 inches in diameter contains an Ashoka wheel of dharma in the centre, surrounded by the lotus wreath and decorative boundaries on the edge. Suspended by straight bar suspenders, the medal is renamed at the edge in both Hindi and English. On the reverse side till 1967 the medal had an inscription of Ashoka Chakra written in both Hindi and English in the upper and lower rim of the medal which was separated with lotus wreath while the centre was left blank perhaps for the provision of engraving the details of the medal in the centre when required. However there was no mention of any class on the medal till 1967 when the name was changed into present day Shaurya Chakra which now replaces the old Ashoka Chakra. Like Kirti Chakra and other such gallantry awards this too carries a state allowance under which the central government shall grant a monthly stipend of Rs 750 to the recipients while the state of Jammu and Kashmir awards an allowance of Rs 700 to the recipients separately. Regarding its appearance the medal is suspended with a ribbon which is 30mm in width with Dark green and three 2mm strips of saffron in the centre. As such it looks like 6mm dark green, 2mm orange, 6mm dark green, 2mm orange and again 6mm dark green and 2mm orange.

Overall this medal is awarded to all the three wings of Indian Army, Indian Navy and Indian Air Force along with the civilians, reserved forces, Territorial Army, Militia as well as any other lawfully constituted Armed forces. It shall be granted to all who performs the act of bravery and valour other than the members of police forces and recognised Fire Services. It also includes members of Nursing Services of the armed forces.

(Last Updated on : 17/05/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Indian Defence Awards  (11)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India is an independent constitutional authority. It is responsible for the superintendence, direction and control of preparation of electoral rolls for, and the conduct of, elections to Parliament and State Legislatures and elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President of India. OP Rawat has been appointed as Election Commissioner of India
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
A.P.J Abdul Kalam is a man of letters and was the 11th President of India. He was a scientist by profession and made successful break through in the field of scientific innovations.
All India Services
All India Services are the three civil services of India, comprising of the IAS, IPS, and the IFS. These are the prestigious jobs under Government of India.
Reorganisation of Assam
Reorganisation of Assam was far more a difficult task and violent process than elsewhere at that time because the central government faced explicit, unequivocal secessionist demands from non Hindu tribal groups.
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Shaurya Chakra - Informative & researched article on Shaurya Chakra
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.