Indian English Newspapers - Informative & researched article on Indian English Newspapers
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Indian Media > Indian English Newspapers
Indian English Newspapers
In spite of the electronic media dominating the world of information the newspaper has not lost its aura.
More on Indian English Newspapers (9 Articles)
 Indian English NewspapersThe tradition of newspaper in India began with India's struggle for independence. During this period the national leaders of India published several newspapers and journals and used it as a means for creating consciousness among the Indians. The newspapers have been subjected to serious repression and a manifestation of this subjugation was the Vernacular Press Act of 1878. It was passed to suppress the freedom of the native press. In the post independence period, newspapers became an essential part of the Indian life, as it was the only source of information. Over the years one can notice a change in the content of the newspaper. The newspaper has become glossier in content with its focus shifting over subjects like lifestyle, travel, cuisine, fashion, and showbiz. Even with the advent of the electronic media, the aura of the print media has not diminished. It still continues to be the cheapest source of information to the common man. Some of the English dailies published in India are as follows,
The Telegraph is a Kolkata based broadsheet newspaper in English, which is owned by the Anandabazar Patrika Limited.

The Statesmanis one of the oldest English newspapers in India and was founded in Kolkata in 1875.

The Times of India is a leading English daily owned and managed by Bennett, Coleman and Co Ltd.

The Economic Timesis a leading business daily, which was founded in 1961 and is owned by the largest media group Bennett and Coleman and Co Ltd.

Business Standard is a business daily from Business Standard Ltd. (BSL), which is published from twelve cities in India.

Business Line is owned by the publishers of the newspaper The Hindu, Kasturi and Sons and is also known as The Hindu Business Line.

The Indian Express is an English daily owned by the Indian Express Group with its headquarters in Mumbai.

Indian English Newspapers The Hindustan Times is a leading Indian newspaper founded in 1924 by Master Sunder Singh Lyallpuri.

The Hindu is a popular English daily with its headquarters in Chennai. It is published from twelve centers in India.

The Pioneer was founded in Allahabad by an Englishman George Allen in 1865 and is published from seven Indian cities.

 Daily News and Analysis is a Mumbai based English daily launched in 2005.

The New Indian Express is a Chennai based English newspaper.

Mid day is an afternoon newspaper with editions in Mumbai and Delhi. It publishes in three languages, English, Gujarati and Urdu. The Sunday edition of the paper is called Sunday Mid-day.

Mumbai Mirror was launched by the Times Group in 2005 to provide information about the city of Mumbai.

Mint is a financial newspaper from the HT Media Ltd. and is the first newspaper to be published in the Berliner format.

The Deccan Chronicle is a newspaper in English published in the states of Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.

The Financial Express is a daily business newspaper, published by the Indian Express group in 1961.

The News Today is an English evening daily, published in Chennai. It was started in 1982.

The Tribune is published from Chandigarh 22nd Delhi. It was founded on 2nd February 1881 in Lahore.

The Deccan Herald was started in 1948 and is largely circulated English daily in Karnataka.

The Assam Tribune is an English daily newspaper published from Guwahati.

Asian Age was launched in February 1994 and is an English daily, which is published from six major cities in India and one in London.

(Last Updated on : 22/02/2014)
More Articles in Indian Media  (46)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
Jagat Prakash Nadda
Jagat Prakash Nadda is an Indian politician and the Member of Parliament, an also as a minister of Health and Family Welfare under the Cabinet Ministry of Narendra Modi`s Government.
Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu
Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu is a well known face in Indian political scenario of Anti Congress session in Indian Parliament.
Manohar Parrikar
Manohar Parrikar is an Indian politician hailing from Goa. He is now serving as the Defence Minister of India under the Cabinet Ministry of Narendra Modi.
Council of Ministers
Council of Ministers is mandated by the constitution to be members of either House of the Parliament of India.
Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore
Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore is one of India`s acclaimed contemporary marksmen and has distinguished himself in many shooting competitions of the international arena. Now he turned himself into a politician and serving as the Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Indian English Newspapers - Informative & researched article on Indian English Newspapers
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.