Indian Defence Awards - Informative & researched article on Indian Defence Awards
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Indian Armed Forces > Indian Defence Awards
Indian Defence Awards
The Indian Defence awards are prestigious awards given for acts of courage.
More on Indian Defence Awards (11 Articles)
 Indian Defence AwardsFrom the remote past, countries have honoured excellence, outstanding service and achievements. In India, this recognition has indeed taken a number of forms, including awarding of medals. To recognise and honour the service of the Indian defence force, the Indian defence awards are given by the President of India.

The Indian defence awards can be divided into two categories, namely, the awards given for gallantry for fighting the enemy and those given for bravery other than fighting the enemy, known as the non gallantry award. The gallantry awards are again categorised into two main categories and stands as the awards - those for gallantry in the face of the enemy and awards- those for gallantry other than in the face of the enemy. The first category of the defence award that is the awards for gallantry in the face of the enemy comprises the prestigious awards like Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, Vir Chakra, Sena - Nao Sena and Vayu Sena Medal, Mention in dispatches and chiefs of staff commendation card.

Param Vir Chakra is the highest honour given to military personnel for display of courage and bravery. Maha Vir Chakra is the second highest honour given to military personnel for a brave deed on land, at sea or in the air. Vir Chakra ranks third in terms of position in Gallantry awards and is awarded to military personnel who have defended their countries in times of need. Sena Medal is given to army men and it is a circular silver medal with a bayonet pointing upwards. Nao Sena Medal is exclusively presented to the navy personnel and it is a circular silver medal with the naval crest on the obverse. Vayu Sena Medal was established by the President of India on 17th June 1960 and is awarded to the Indian Air Force "in recognition of such individual acts of exceptional devotion to duty or courage as have special significance for the Air Force."

The second category of the gallantry award comprises the esteemed awards like Ashoka Chakra, Kirti chakra and the Shaurya Chakra. Originally these were named as Ashoka Chakra class I, Class II and Class III.

While Ashoka Chakra is warded for the "most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice" other than in the face of the enemy, the Kirti Chakra is awarded for "conspicuous gallantry" in non-combatant situations. Both the Asoka Chakra and the Kirti Chakra can be awarded to recognise the gallantry and courage of the military personnel as well as of the civilians. The medals may be awarded posthumously. Shaurya Chakra is awarded to commemorate the valour of civilians or the military personnel.

Among the non-gallantry awards, the following can be mentioned:
  • Param Vishisht Seva Medal
  • Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal
  • Uttam Yudh Seva Medal
  • Yudh Seva Medal
  • Samar Seva Medal
  • Sainya Seva Medal
  • Raksha Medal
  • Sangram Medal
  • Wound Medal
  • 25th Independence Anniversary Medal
  • (Last Updated on : 17/05/2014)
    More Articles in Indian Armed Forces  (145)
    Indian Army  (115)
    Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
    Murli Deora
    Murli Deora was an Indian politician and a well known face in Congress Party. He belonged to the Indian National Congress. He was Union Minister of Corporate Affairs.
    National Bravery Awards
    National Bravery Awards for children are among the most esteemed civil awards given to children of the country for the acts of bravery.
    Bharat Ratna
    Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India and is given for the highest degree of service to the nation. The award was established by the India’s first President Rajendra Prasad.
    Hindi Language Newspapers
    Hindi Language Newspapers contributed significantly in the freedom struggle of the country. The origin of Hindi Language Newspapers can be traced back to India’s struggle for independence when it helped in awakening the masses.
    Arun Jaitley
    Arun Jaitley, a man of hard work and position, is now serving as a Minister of Finance, Minister of Corporate Affairs and Minister of Information and Broadcasting of India.
    E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
    Forum on Indian Administration
    Free E-magazine
    Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
    Indian Defence Awards - Informative & researched article on Indian Defence Awards
    Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
    Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
    Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.