Dravya - Informative & researched article on Dravya
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Philosophy

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Philosophy > Indian Philosophers > Dravya
Dravya is an Indian Philosophy based on the concept of substance or the composition of something. Dravya is the bedrock for modification.
 Dravya means continuing object or substance: one of the types of objectively real basic features of the cosmos according to the Vaiseshika Philosophy. Dravya is a persistently enduring object with constant nature that possesses persisting qualities and transitory motions. Substance is defined as something that lacks constant absence of qualities and motions. Substances lack qualities and motions at the moment of origination but the object has an identity and a form.

A substance or basic particular is a subject different from its properties rather than a union of properties. The category includes different types of irreducible and indestructible atoms that are comprised of the earth, water, fire and air; the atmosphere, time, space and souls and the inner sense. Atoms are the raw material of the cosmos. Substances are individualized by the different arrangements of their parts. A substance is an integrated whole product that forms a novel unit, over and above the sum of its parts. Each sensory quality is apprehensible only through the corresponding sense organ.

In the Nyaya system there are nine types: prithivi, ap, tejas, vayu, Akasa, Kala, dis, manas and atman. In the Jain system there are six types: jiva, dharma, adharma, pudgala, Kala, and Akasa.

Dravya is applicable to physical objects and ontological entities. There are six dravyas: Isvara, jiva, jnana, nitya-vibhuti, prakrti and Kala. These six dravyas are classified into Ajada and Jada. Ajada meaning spiritual substance and it includes Isvara, jiva, jnana and nitya-vibhuti. Jada includes prakrti and Kala.

In Jainism, Dravya have three characteristics. It has the quality of existence, quality of permanence through origination and destruction and it is the substratum of attributes and modes. The Dravya is uncreated and cannot be destroyed, its essential qualities remain intact and it is only its mode or condition that can and does change.

(Last Updated on : 18/11/2010)
More Articles in Indian Philosophers  (27)
Kapila  (2)
Dignaga  (2)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Philosophy
Nagasena`s Theory of Self
Nagasena, the founder of the Buddhist theory of self which unfolds many of the conceptions related to mind and soul.
Arhats, Buddhism
An arhat is an enlightened being who has comprehended the purpose of nirvana and is free from rebirths.
Concept of Self
Concept of Self as defined in Buddhist Philosophy is quite different from that of Hindu philosophy. In Buddhist philosophy, the Concept of Self is composed of five distinct parts namely consciousness, feeling, perception, mental formations and corporeality.
Yogakara school of thought
Yogakara school of thought developed in the fourth century.
Elements of Individuality
Elements of Individuality as per Buddhist Philosophy are denial of existence; self-belief and self interest. According to Buddhism, the process of individuality is considered as a constant arising and a grasping of the objects of its affection.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Indian Philosophy
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Dravya - Informative & researched article on Dravya
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.