Nigodas, Inhabitants of Jain Universe - Informative & researched article on Nigodas, Inhabitants of Jain Universe
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Philosophy

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Philosophy > Schools of Indian Philosophy > Jain Philosophy > Jain Cosmology > Nigodas
Nigodas, Inhabitants of Jain Universe
Nigodas according to the Jain Philosophy are the inhabitants of the universe. Distribution of the inhabitants throughout the universe is in a definite manner.
 Nigodas, Inhabitants of Jain UniverseThe whole world is filled up by living beings; not even a space equal to a breadth of a hair is free. But the different types and classes of the Jivas are not evenly distributed over the universe. They are distributed in a quick definite manner.

Everywhere there are Nigodas. They are quite tiny, fine beings, not perceivable by our senses, having one sense. They do not also possess a body which can be voluntarily moved (like plants and elementary being). The Nigodas are divided into 2 classes, in

1. Nityanigodas, i. e. those which never leave this lowest state of the life and

2. Itara-nigodas, i.e those which had reached a higher stage of existence, but demoted again into this stage on account of their Karma.

Beings with their own, voluntary movement are found only in a definite part of the universe, namely in the so-called "region of the mobile".

The Jivas are distributed within the Transcendental, corresponding to their stages of existence, as under:

Animals (plants and elementary beings are also included in them) are found everywhere.

Human beings live only in the middle world, and besides only on 2'/2 of its continents.

Beings in hells are present only in the hells of the under world.

God lives in the heaven, in the middle world and in the three upper worlds of the nether world.

The total living beings of the world are divided into 14 classes (jiva-sthana). The number of the organs of senses and other characteristics serve in this as a principle of classification. The classes are: 1. fine with one sense, 2. crude with one sense, 3. those having two senses, 4. those having three senses, 5. those having four senses, 6. those who are insensible and do not have five senses, 7. sensible animals with five senses, as also human beings, beings from the hell and gods having five senses.

Jaina-religion also teaches that there are 84 lakhs of life-forms in which a soul can be incarnated. There are each 7,00,000 Nitya- and Itara-Nigodas, beings on earth, in water, fire and air, each 10,00,000 of plants, each 2,00,000 of beings with two, three and four senses, each 4,00,000 of animals with five senses, beings in the hell, gods and 1,400,000 of human beings.

Jaina philosophers indicate exactly what characteristics each class of the beings have, what types of knowledge, activity, colour of the soul, of the faith and conduct they show, which stage of virtue they reach and which karma can be present in them when they bind it, produce it or could have it potentially.

Animals with one, two, three or four senses are reborn only as animals and human beings; fire-and wind beings only as animals. Animals with five senses can obtain a new life in all the stages of existence. Gods become human beings developed crude beings from the earth and water or animals having five senses. Human beings get any from of. Existence; they are the only ones among the beings who can attain salvation.

(Last Updated on : 06/12/2011)
More Articles in Jain Cosmology  (5)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Philosophy
Visistadvaita Theory of Material Causality
Visistadvaita Theory of Material Causality is the belief that Brahman as organically related to the cit and acit is the material cause of the universe. Both cause and effect are said to be different states of the same thing, and it is on the basis of this explanation that Brahman as the adhara of the universe is not affected by the evolution of the entire universe which constitutes the body of the Brahman.
Eleven Principal Upanishads
There are eleven principal Upanishads each of which ascribes the basic Hindu Philosophy related to Brahman and Atman.
Shankaracharya, the title derives from Sankara of Kaladi, is a stream of non other than Hindu thought.
Buddhist Philosophy
Buddhist Philosophy is based on the teachings of Gautama Buddha. According to some scholars early Buddhist Philosophy was not connected with metaphysical or ontological speculation rather it was based on experimental evidences gained by sensory organs
Teachings of Kapila Muni
Teachings of Kapila Muni are based on the philosophies known as Samkhya which he had devised and they gradually become widespread with the efforts of his disciples.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Indian Philosophy
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Nigodas, Inhabitants of Jain Universe - Informative & researched article on Nigodas, Inhabitants of Jain Universe
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.