History of Dewas District - Informative & researched article on History of Dewas District
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesStates of India

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
States of India|Indian Cities|Beaches of India|Hill Stations in India|Forests in India
Home > Travel > States of India > Madhya Pradesh > Districts of Madhya Pradesh > Dewas District > History of Dewas District
History of Dewas District
History of Dewas District is primarily the history of the twin treaty states of the senior and junior branch of Madhya Bharat States. As per history, Dewas District was formed in the year 1948 after the reconstitution of Madhya Bharat states.
 History of Dewas DistrictHistory of Dewas District broadly corresponds to the twin treaty states of the senior and junior branch of Madhya Bharat States of the early twentieth century with some adjustments of other territories. History of Dewas District also states that there were two district chief ships with separate administrations, acting independently in most matters, sharing the same capital town of Dewas. Consequent upon the merger of princely states and the formation of Madhya Bharat State in the year 1948 there was reconstitution of boundaries and thus the district in the present form was constituted.

According to the history of Dewas District, the reconstituted district of Dewas was, however, formed by merging 242 villages. These are the accumulation of two Tehsils of Dewas of the former Senior and Junior State, 452 villages of Sonkatch tehsil and 99 villages of Ujjain tehsil of former Gwalior state, 99 villages of Nimanpur tehsil, of Dhar District, one village of Jawar tehsil of former Bhopal state, and then the existing tehsils of Kannodand Khategaon of former Holkar State. With the reorganisation of states on linguistic basis on 1st of November, 1956, Madhya Bharat, with other territories got merged to form the new state of Madhya Pradesh and thus Dewas District continues to be one of the districts in it.

The founder of the Senior Branch of Dewas was Tukoji Rao (I), a descendant of the old Paramara dynasty. He died in the year 1753 and was succeeded by his adopted son Krishnaji Rao. The fortunes of both the branches fell very low at this time owing to the depredations of the Pindaris, Sindhia and Holkar, Krishnaji Rao II, who succeeded Rukmangad Rao in the year 1860 by adoption. He was a bad administrator and plunged the state in debt. Later, Tukoji Rao III who was adopted from another branch of the family flourished Dewas District in agricultural perspective.

History of Dewas District also says that Dewas played an important role in the Sepoy Mutiny 1857. Thakur Dowlat Singh of Raghogarh (Dewas) faced the British East India Company with supreme courage. He was trapped, arrested and hanged in Guna Cantonment. Both these states were merged in to Madhya Bharat in 1948. According to historical accounts, the other important constituent of the district is Nemawar consisting of Kannod and Khategaon tehsils of former Holkar state. In Puranic literature, Nemawar is spoken of as Nabhapur and the hillock nearby now called 'Gwal Tekri' is mentioned there in as Mani Gir.

During the reign of the Mughal Emperor Akbar, this tract was included under the name Nemawar Panch Mahal in Sarkar Handia of the Subah of Malwa and comprised the five Parganas of Nemawar, Satwas, Rajor, Kataphor and Harangaon, the first three being the headquarters of Mahals. This area passed over to the Peshwas in between 1740 - 1745 and was divided between Scindhia and Holkar, the former acquiring Satwas and the latter Kataphor. Pindaris had also a hold on this territory near about 1806. In 1904, Harangaon was merged in to Nemawar and Satwas with Kataphor. In 1908, Nemawar was renamed. Khategaon and Rajor was named as Kannod. Kataphor was then merged with Kannod.

Dewas tehsil consisted of the home blocks of Dewas senior and Dewas junior excluding Khankhera and Umsod villages of the former and villages Goyta, Tanda and Gujarbardia of the latter, with were joined with Shajapur tehsil. Sonkatch tehsil consisted of all the villages of the Sonkatch Pargana excluding 200 villages included in Bagli Tehsil and 26 villages were joined with Shajapur. Bagli tehsil was formed with the merger of 200 villages of Sonkatch Pargana and two villages (Shivpur Mandia and Borkheda Purbya) of Dewas senior with the Nimanpur Pargana of the erstwhile Dhar state. There was no change whatsoever in Kannod and Khategaon Tehsils of Nemawar district of former Holkar state.

(Last Updated on : 18/01/2013)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Dewas District  (3)
Recently Updated Articles in States of India
Travel Information on Rajasthan
Travel Information on Rajasthan will come handy for both national and international tourists, who want to visit Rajasthan.
Demography of Rajasthan
Demography of Rajasthan is figured out in the year 2011 with a population of 6.86 Crores.
History of Lakshadweep
History of Lakshadweep defines the first settlement on these islands under the Union Territory of India that was ruled by Cheraman Perumal, who was the last king of Kerala.
Geography of Bharatpur District
Geography of Bharatpur district is marked by its location, a 100 metres above sea level. There are three main seasonal rivers in the district, namely Ban Ganga River, Rooparel and Gambhir River.
Pilgrimage Tourism in Pathanamthitta District
Pilgrimage Tourism in Pathanamthitta District comprises of visiting the various temples and churches situated here. Also known as the ‘headquarters of pilgrimage tourism’, Sabarimala which lies in the district is one of the most revered sites in Kerala.
Forum on States of India
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Travel
History of Dewas District - Informative & researched article on History of Dewas District
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.