Skandha, Five Aggregates, Buddhist philosophy - Informative & researched article on Skandha, Five Aggregates, Buddhist philosophy
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Philosophy

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Philosophy > Buddhist Philosophy > Skandha
Skandha, Five Aggregates, Buddhist philosophy
A group of five dimensions of humanity and their self experience sums up Five Aggregates in Buddhist philosophy.
 Skandha, Five Aggregates, Buddhist philosophyIn Buddhist phenomenology and soteriology, the five skandhas (Sanskrit) or khandhas (Pali) are five "aggregates" which categorise all individual experience, among which there is no "self" that can be found. A frequently asserted metaphysical corollary is that a "person" is made up of these five aggregates.

In the Theravada tradition, suffering originates when one identifies with or otherwise clings to an aggregate; thus, suffering is eliminated by renouncing attachments to aggregates. The Mahayana tradition additionally puts forth that ultimate freedom is realised by deeply pervading the inherently empty nature of all aggregates.

Outside of Buddhist didactic contexts, "skandha" can mean mass, heap, pile, bundle or tree trunk.

Buddhist doctrine distinguishes five aggregates:
  • "form" or "matter" (Sanskrit, Pali rupa): external and internal matter. Externally, rupa is the physical world. Internally, rupa comprises the material body and the physical sense organs.

  • "sensation"or "feeling" (Sanskrit, Pali vedana): sensing an object as either pleasant or unpleasant or neutral.

  • "perception", "conception", "apperception", "cognition" or "discrimination" (Sanskrit samjña, Pali sanna): registers whether an object is recognised or not (for example, the sound of a bell or the shape of a tree).

  • "mental formations", "volition", or "compositional factors" (Sanskrit samskara, Pali sankhara): all sorts of mental habits, thoughts, ideas, opinions, impulsions, and decisions sparked by an object.

  • "consciousness" (Sanskrit vijñana, Pali vinnana):

  • (a) In the Nikayas: cognisance.
    (b) In the Abhidhamma: a series of speedily changing interconnected disconnnected acts of cognisance.
    (c) In Mahayana sources: the root that supports all experience.

    In the Pali Canon, the majority of discourses concentring on the five aggregates discusses them as a foundation for understanding and attaining release from suffering, without describing relationships between the aggregates themselves. However, from some canonical preachings, a causal relationship between the five aggregates can be deduced.

    The following exemplify such relational dimensions:
    Form (rupa) originates from experientially irreducible physical/physiological phenomena.

    Form - in terms of an external object (like a sound) and its connected internal sense organ (like the ear) - gives rise to consciousness (viññ?na).

    The concurrence of an object, its sense organ and the associated consciousness (viññana) is called "contact" (phassa).

    From the contact of form and consciousness originate the three mental (nama) aggregates of feeling (vedan?), perception (sañña) and mental formation (sankhara).

    The mental aggregates can then in turn give rise to additional consciousness that leads to the developing of additional mental aggregates.

    In this outline, form, the mental aggregates, and consciousness are mutually dependent.

    Other Buddhist literature has described the aggregates as arising in a linear or progressive mode, from form to feeling to perception to mental formations to consciousness.

    (Last Updated on : 26/04/2011)
    More Articles in Buddhist Philosophy  (51)
    Recently Updated Articles in Indian Philosophy
    Visistadvaita Theory of Material Causality
    Visistadvaita Theory of Material Causality is the belief that Brahman as organically related to the cit and acit is the material cause of the universe. Both cause and effect are said to be different states of the same thing, and it is on the basis of this explanation that Brahman as the adhara of the universe is not affected by the evolution of the entire universe which constitutes the body of the Brahman.
    Eleven Principal Upanishads
    There are eleven principal Upanishads each of which ascribes the basic Hindu Philosophy related to Brahman and Atman.
    Shankaracharya, the title derives from Sankara of Kaladi, is a stream of non other than Hindu thought.
    Buddhist Philosophy
    Buddhist Philosophy is based on the teachings of Gautama Buddha. According to some scholars early Buddhist Philosophy was not connected with metaphysical or ontological speculation rather it was based on experimental evidences gained by sensory organs
    Teachings of Kapila Muni
    Teachings of Kapila Muni are based on the philosophies known as Samkhya which he had devised and they gradually become widespread with the efforts of his disciples.
    E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
    Forum on Indian Philosophy
    Free E-magazine
    Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
    Skandha, Five Aggregates, Buddhist philosophy - Informative & researched article on Skandha, Five Aggregates, Buddhist philosophy
    Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
    Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
    Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.