Andhra Cricket Association - Informative & researched article on Andhra Cricket Association
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Cricket

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Traditional Sports|Indian Hockey|Indian Cricket|Indian Tennis|Indian Football|Chess|Athletics
Home > Sports > Indian Cricket > Indian Cricket Associations > Andhra Cricket Association
Andhra Cricket Association
Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) is a member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India and it represents the state of Andhra Pradesh in the BCCI.
 Andhra Cricket AssociationThe Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) is one of the members of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The ACA is the authorised association for organising cricket matches and other official events in the state. The ACA was established in the year 1953, with the two great cricket players from Andhra Pradesh, C. K. Naidu and C. S. Naidu, and Mushtaq Ali playing a festival match for marking the foundation. The association is controlled by the BCCI, apex organization for cricket in India. It arranges domestic and international matches for the association.

Origin of Andhra Cricket Association:
Cricket was being played in an organised way in the state of Andhra Pradesh even before the formation of the Andhra Cricket Association. There were a few clubs which were born in Guntur District around the year 1952. Initiatives were taken to start cricket clubs in various parts of Andhra Pradesh after it had separated from Madras (now Chennai). Later on, they elected to join together to form an association which was named as the Andhra Cricket Association in Guntur District. The club was inaugurated in Col. C.K. Naidu. After the ACA was formed in 1953, another cricket organisation formed in the year of 1962. It was the Vishakhapatnam District Cricket Association that boosted the cricket scenario in the state and ACA gradually became the leading cricket organisation in Andhra Pradesh.

Activities of Andhra Cricket Association:
Andhra Cricket Association Apart from organising cricket matches and other official events, the Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) also conducts some other activities like honouring the famous sportspersons for their achievements. The ACA always gets alliance from the Vishakhapatnam District Cricket Association, while organising various events and the two organisations have successfully organised a number of events, during their journey so far. The Indira Priyadarsini Municipal Corporation Stadium is the principal venue for organising cricket matches, in the state. The Andhra Cricket Association is also continuously trying hard to promote the players from the state to get a berth in the Indian national cricket team. Apart from that, the organisation is quite dedicated in developing the entire cricket-playing scenario in the state, as well.

The Andhra Cricket Association supports and develops Cricket by conducting various League Tournaments, Tournaments for the age group Under-14, Under-16, and Under-19, Under-22 and Under-25 categories besides organizing and conducting National Tournaments.

(Last Updated on : 27/03/2012)
More Articles in Indian Cricket Associations  (33)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Cricket
Nilima Jogalekar
Nilima Jogalekar was a popular name in the Indian women team, who represented India for 6 test matches.
Women Cricket in India
Women cricket in India is gaining popularity with each passing. The team has done exceptionally well in the recent years.
India-West Indies Kolkata Test, 2002
The drawn India-West Indies Kolkata Test in 2002 witnessed some heroic batting performances.
India-Pakistan Bangalore Test, 1983
The India-Pakistan Bangalore Test in 1983 is remembered for good batting performances from both the teams.
India-England Leeds Test, 2002
Outstanding performance of the Indian players helped India clinching victory in the India-England Leeds Test, 2002.
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Indian Cricket
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Sports
Andhra Cricket Association - Informative & researched article on Andhra Cricket Association
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.