Mahayana Sutras, Buddhist Scripture - Informative & researched article on Mahayana Sutras, Buddhist Scripture
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Philosophy

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Philosophy > Buddhist Philosophy > Mahayana Sutras
Mahayana Sutras, Buddhist Scripture
Mahayana Sutras comprise of the detailed teachings of Gautama Buddha.
 Mahayana Sutras, Buddhist ScriptureMahayana Sutras contains the detailed teachings of Buddha. It is presumed that these are original representation of his teachings. There are 12 sutras in this scripture. Mahayana Buddhists strongly believe that the Mahayana sutras truly represent the life and teachings of Buddha.

The Mahayana Sutras are: -
1. Avatamsaka Sutra: is the second largest sutra in the Mahayana Scripture and it contains Buddha's teachings to the bodhisattvas. It includes different sutras, such as, Gandavyuha Sutra, Dasabhumika Sutra and Amitayurdyhana Sutra. It is also known as Flower Ornament Sutra, Flower Garland Sutra and Flower Adornment Sutra.

2. Brahma Net : It consists of Ten Major Precepts of Mahayana as well as the Bodhisattva Precepts. Brahma Net is referred to as Brahmajala Sutra too.

3. Diamond: Known as Vajracchedika Prajnaparamita Sutra, it is one of the well-known scriptures in Prajnaparamita sutras. This sutra relates the doctrine of sunyata or emptiness and wisdom or Prajna.

4. Heart or Prajnaparamita-Hrdaya: Sutra is a small one but one of the most popular ones. It also stresses on the concept of emptiness.

5. Heroic Gate: relates the power of Samadhi or jhana. This is also known as Surangama Sutra.

6. Amitabha Sutra:is one of the basic principles of Pure land School. This sutra describes the virtues and blessings Buddha, Pure land and his rebirth. It is also known as Amida Sutra, Shorter Amitabha Sutra and Smaller Sukhavati-vyuha Sutra.

7. Jewel Heap: or Ratnakuta Sutra belongs to the Vaipulya. It is one of the oldest Buddhist sutras. It is also instrumental in developing the middle path in Buddhism.

8. Lankavatara: is the scriptural base for Yogacara and Zen Schools. Buddha's enlightenment and emptiness and mind are dealt with through this sutra.

9. Longer Amitabha: belongs to the Pure land texts. It describes the concept of causation and Pure land. It is also known as Longer Sukhavativyuha Sutra and Larger Amitabha Sutra.

10. Lotus :or Saddharma Pundarika Sutra is a part of the Tendai scripture. It helps in educating one on the history of Buddha and the Transcendental Buddha.

11. Meditation:too belongs to the Pure land school. It instructs on meditation and visualization. It is popularly also known as Amitayurdyhana Sutra.

12. Ten Stages Chapter :or Dasabhumika Sutra is an independent one. It teaches the ten paths of Buddha that can leads an individual to enlightenment.

13. Vimalakirti :represents the basic principles of Mahayana principles. This is in a form of conversation between an erudite Buddhist and Vimalakirti, the householder.

(Last Updated on : 06/06/2015)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Buddhist Philosophy  (51)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Philosophy
Videha Mukti
Videha mukti is the moksha that is attained by a person after death. It is a Hindu view of death.
Theory of Reason in Indian Philosophy
Theory of Reason in Indian Philosophy is one of the important theories that have received lot of critical appreciation. Theory of Reason can be used or misused.
Sramana Movement
Sramana movement existed before the 6th century BC dating back to Indus valley civilization. It was a movement that had influenced Indian philosophy immensely.
Satkaryavada is the theory that says that effects pre-exist in their underlying causes. Satkaryavada is a theory of causal process which is accepted by the Samkhya and Vedanta traditions.
Forum on Indian Philosophy
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Mahayana Sutras, Buddhist Scripture - Informative & researched article on Mahayana Sutras, Buddhist Scripture
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.