Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, West Bengal - Informative & researched article on Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, West Bengal
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesEducation

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Education > Indian Universities > Universities of West Bengal > Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya
Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, West Bengal
Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya is an agricultural university in West Bengal that aims to provide higher education in technical fields of Agriculture, Horticulture and Agricultural Engineering.
 Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, West BengalThe Bidhan Chandra Krishi Vishwavidyalaya is a pioneer institute in the field of Agricultural Education and Research. It provides modern and high value education to create scientists of tomorrow with the capability to work at national and international levels. The Bidhan Chandra Krishi Vishwavidyalaya (BCKV) was set up in 1974. The campus of this reputed institute is located at Mohanpur in the Nadia district of West Bengal. It offers agricultural education at the undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral levels. The different branches of study are Agriculture, Horticulture and Agricultural Engineering and other allied disciplines.

The Viswavidyalaya underwent structural changes in February 2001. Previously, it had a North Bengal campus at Coochbehar along with three northern Regional Stations at Kalimpong, Cooch Behar and Dinajpore. After February 2001, a new University has been created out of these campuses, which was named the Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidalaya (UBKV). This was done to decentralize the administration as well as concentrate on the agricultural needs of the North Bengal districts. With this division the Bidhan Chandra Krishi Vishwavidyalaya looks after the agricultural needs only of the southern districts of West Bengal.

Faculties of Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya
Faculty of Agriculture
There are 17 departments: Agronomy, Soil Science & Chemistry, Agricultural Entomology, Agricultural Chemicals, Biotechnology, Instrumentation & Environmental Science, Soil & Water Conservation, Plant Pathology, Meteorology & Physics, Agricultural Extension, Agricultural Statistics, Agricultural Economics, Genetics, Plant Physiology, Plant Breeding, Animal Science, Agricultural Biochemistry, and Seed Science & Technology.
Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, West Bengal Faculty of Horticulture
There are five departments: Fruits & Orchard Management, Vegetable Crops, Floriculture & Landscaping, Post-Harvest Technology, and Spices & Plantation Crops.
Faculty of Agriculture Engineering
There are four departments: Soil & Water Engineering, Food Engineering, Post-Harvest Engineering, and Machinery & Power.

Directorate of Research
The Directorate of Research at Kalyani is the coordinating-monitoring headquarters of the research stations spread over the jurisdiction of the Viswavidyalaya.

Directorate of Extension Education
The Directorate of Extension Education was created only in 1994 through upgrading the Field Extension Wing, which took care of farm advisory services among a few villages, surrounding the headquarter campus of the Viswavidyalaya.

The objective of the Vishwavidyalaya is to impart knowledge amongst the farmers and farm entrepreneurs and conduct research on agricultural related matters. The researches conducted by the Vishwavidyalaya are done with the aim to transfer the technology to the users. In its years of existence it has emerged as a centre of excellence at the national level.

(Last Updated on : 25/06/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Universities of West Bengal  (19)
Recently Updated Articles in Education
Siddhartha Medical College
Siddhartha Medical College is designed for spreading medical education, since its inception in 1980.
National Institute of Fashion Technology
National Institute of Fashion Technology is an institution of design, management and technology for the international fashion business. Established in 1986, the institute comprises of 34 fashion schools worldwide.
Vasavi College of Engineering
Vasavi College of Engineering is a self-financed technical institution situated in Hyderabad. Established in 1981, the college offers undergraduate, postgraduate and some value added courses.
Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology
Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology is located in Hyderabad, which is the capital of both Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. This institute is collaborated with University of Nebraska Medical Centre.
Forum on Education
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, West Bengal - Informative & researched article on Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Mohanpur, West Bengal
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.