Burdwan University, West Bengal - Informative & researched article on Burdwan University, West Bengal
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesEducation

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Education > Indian Universities > Universities of West Bengal > Burdwan University
Burdwan University, West Bengal
Burdwan University is a public university that is located in Bardhaman district of West Bengal. It was established in 1960.
 Burdwan University, West BengalBurdwan University was established by the West Bengal government as a teaching and affiliating university on 15 June 1960 with six graduate departments and thirty undergraduate colleges spread over five districts that come under the jurisdiction of the university. Bardhaman, Birbhum, Bankura, Purulia and Hooghly (except Srirampur) are covered under the jurisdiction. Thirty graduate programmes are offered by the university. One hundred and thirty nine colleges are affiliated to this university. It has been awarded four stars by the NAAC.

History of Burdwan University
The last maharaja of Burdwan, Uday Chand Mahtab left the entire property of Burdwan to the West Bengal government after the zamindari system ended in the 1950s.Bidhan Chandra Roy, the then chief minister of took the initiative of establishing a university there. Initially it began its function with the humanities division only. The science subjects were included later on.

Course offered at University of Burdwan
Some of the undergraduate courses include:

# Bachelor of Information Technology
# Bachelor of Metallurgical Engineering
# 5-year Integrated B.A. LL.B.(Hons.)
# Bachelor of Arts Education
# Bachelor of Physical Education
# B.A. (Hons) in Nutrition
# B.A. Hons in Rabindra Sangit
# B.A.(Hons) in Arabic - 3 Years
# B.A.(Hons) in French - 3 Years
# B.A.(Hons) in Persian - 3 Years
# B.A.(Hons) in Sanskrit - 3 Years
# B.A.(Hons) in Urdu - 3 Years
# B.B.A. (Hons)
# B.B.A. (Hons) in Tourism and Hospitality
# B.C.A. (Hons)
# B.Com. with Major in Advertising, Sales Promotion & Practice
# B.Com. with Major in Office Management & Secretarial Practice
# B.Com. with Major in Tax Procedure & Practice
# B.Sc. with Major in Environment & Water Management
# B.Sc. with Major in Industrial Fish & Fisheries
# B.Sc. with Major in Seed Technology
# B.Sc. with Major in Sericulture
# B.Sc.(Hons) in Bioinformatics
# Bachelor of Physiotherapy

Post Graduate (science) programmes include:
Burdwan University, West Bengal Biotechnology, Botany, Education, Mathematics, Chemistry, Microbiology, Statistics, Environmental Science, Computer Science, Geography, Zoology, Physics.
Post Graduate (arts, commerce and other subjects) programmes include:
Bengali, English, Hindi, Sanskrit, Foreign Language, Business Administration, Business Administration (Human Resource), Tourism Management, History, Economics, Commerce, Mass Communication, Library and Information Science, Political Science, Sociology, Philosophy, Law.

University also offers post graduate distance education.

University Institute of Technology (UIT)
University Institute of Technology (UIT) is a professional engineering college under Burdwan University. It was inaugurated in 2001 and is approved by the government of West Bengal and All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). Courses offered here include:
Bachelor of Civil Engineering
Bachelor of Electrical Engineering
Bachelor of Applied Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
Bachelor of Computer Science and Engineering
Bachelor of Electronics & Communication Engineering
Bachelor of Information Technology

(Last Updated on : 05/08/2014)
More Articles in Universities of West Bengal  (19)
Recently Updated Articles in Education
Kerala Law Entrance Examination
Kerala Law Entrance Examination is the admissions test that is conducted by the Commissioner for Entrance Examinations, Thiruvananthapuram. This entrance test is undertaken by those students who are willing to pursue LLB and LLM courses.
Karnataka Common Entrance Test (CET)
Karnataka Common Entrance Test (CET) is organized by the Karnataka Examinations Authority, Bengaluru (KEA) on behalf of the Karnataka government. The main purpose of conducting this entrance test is the admissions of the students to the first year of several medical, engineering and dental degree course programmes.
Joint Entrance Screening Test (JEST)
Joint Entrance Screening Test (JEST) is the screening test that is organized by some renowned premier institutes of the country for the PhD level programmes. Candidates who are willing to go for PhD programmes need to appear for this test.
Joint Admission Test to M. Sc (JAM)
Joint Admission Test to M.Sc (JAM) is the admissions test that is conducted by the IITs for judging the capabilities of the students throughout the country. This test is conducted for taking admissions in the high quality M. Sc courses offered by the IITs.
Jharkhand Combined Entrance Competitive Examination (JCECE)
Jharkhand Combined Entrance Competitive Examination is conducted for selecting the suitable candidates for several medical, agricultural and engineering degree programmes. This common entrance examination is held by the Jharkhand Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board (JCECEB).
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Forum on Education
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Burdwan University, West Bengal - Informative & researched article on Burdwan University, West Bengal
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.