Chief Ministers of Indian States - Informative & researched article on Chief Ministers of Indian States
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Personalities

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Indian Food|Indian Religion|Indian Personalities|Indian Villages|Kamasutra|Indian Costume|Indian Weddings|Astrology|Indian Jewellery|Indian Women|Indian Tribals
Home > Society > Indian Personalities > Chief Ministers of Indian States
Chief Ministers of Indian States
Chief Ministers of Indian states are elected heads of respective state government. They are entrusted with executive powers and serve a 5 years term.
More on Chief Ministers of Indian States (64 Articles)
 Chief Ministers of Indian StatesChief Ministers of Indian states refer to the elected leaders of government at the State level and generally occupies executive powers. Chief Ministers of India are selected by legislators of the political party or alliance, commanding an assembly majority, and serves a term of 5 years. There is also provision for re-election. India is a nation of 7 union territories and 30 States. There are actually 30 Chief Ministers in India and 2 out of the union territories. Chief Minister of Indian state is the constitutional head of the state. They have complete power of control over the state.

The present Chief Ministers and their respective parties are discussed below-

Chief Ministers by State of India

State Name Took Office Party
Andhra Pradesh Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy 1/1/2011 Indian National Congress
Arunachal Pradesh Nabam Tuki 1/11/2011 Indian National Congress
Assam Tarun Kumar Gogoi 5/17/2001 Indian National Congress
Bihar Nitish Kumar 10/24/2005 Janata Dal (United)
Chhattisgarh Raman Singh 12/7/2003 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
National Capital Territory of Delhi Sheila Dikshit 12/3/1998 Indian National Congress
Goa Manohar Parrikar 6/8/2007 Indian National Congress
Gujarat Narendra Modi 10/7/2001 Bharatiya Janata Party
Haryana Bhupinder Singh Hooda 3/5/2005 Indian National Congress
Himachal Pradesh Prem Kumar Dhumal 1/1/2008 Bharatiya Janata Party
Jammu and Kashmir Omar Abdullah 1/5/2009 Jammu and Kashmir National Conference
Jharkhand Arjun Munda 9/11/2010 Bharatiya Janata Party
Karnataka DV Sadananda Gowda 8/3/2011 Bharatiya Janata Party
Kerala Oommen Chandy 5/18/2011 Indian National Congress
Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chauhan 11/29/2005 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Maharashtra Prithviraj Chavan 11/11/2010 Indian National Congress
Manipur Okram Ibobi Singh 3/2/2002 Indian National Congress
Meghalaya Mukul Sangma 4/20/2010 Indian National Congress
Mizoram Lal Thanhawla 12/7/2008 Indian National Congress
Nagaland Neiphiu Rio 3/12/2008 Nagaland People’s Front
Orissa Naveen Patnaik 3/5/2000 Biju Janata Dal
Puducherry N. Rangaswamy 5/16/2011 All India NR Congress
Punjab Parkash Singh Badal 2/28/2007 Shiromani Akali Dal
Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot 12/12/2008 Indian National Congress
Sikkim Pawan Kumar Chamling 12/12/1994 Sikkim Democratic Front
Tamil Nadu J. Jayalalitha 5/16/2011 All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Tripura Manik Sarkar 3/11/1998 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Uttarakhand Vijay Bahuguna 9/11/2011 Bharatiya Janata Party
Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav 5/13/2007 Bahujan Samaj Party
West Bengal Mamata Banerjee 5/20/2011 All India Trinamool Congress

(Last Updated on : 18/04/2012)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Personalities
Om Prakash Munjal
Om Prakash Munjal was an Indian businessman and he was the founding father of Hero Cycles and Hero motorbikes.
Kayyar Kinhanna Rai
Kayyara Kinhanna Rai was an Indian Independence activist and served with Mahatma Gandhi during the Non Co-operation Movement and The Quit India Movement.
P C Sorcar , Senior
The Internationally active magician, P C Sorcar (Senior) has been reckoned as the "Emperor Of Magic".
Indian Magicians
Indian Magicians with their games, expertise and talent has enchanted the audiences from the remote past.
Forum on Indian Personalities
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Society
Chief Ministers of Indian States - Informative & researched article on Chief Ministers of Indian States
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.