Vayalar Ravi, Indian Politician - Informative & researched article on Vayalar Ravi, Indian Politician
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Personalities

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Indian Food|Indian Religion|Indian Personalities|Indian Villages|Kamasutra|Indian Costume|Indian Weddings|Astrology|Indian Jewellery|Indian Women|Indian Tribals
Home > Society > Indian Personalities > Indian Politicians > Vayalar Ravi
Vayalar Ravi, Indian Politician
Vayalar Ravi is an eminent Indian Politician and former Union Cabinet Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs. He belongs to the Indian National Congress Party.
 Vayalar Ravi, Indian PoliticianVayalar Ravi is an eminent Indian Politician and former Union Cabinet Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs. He is a member of Rajya Sabha. He represents the Indian National Congress.

Early life of Vayalar Ravi
Vayalar Ravi was born on 1937 to Shri M.K. Krishnan and Shrimati Devaky Krishnan at Vayalar, Distt. Alappuzha (Kerala) in a middle class family. His father was a veteran freedom fighter, a social activist who fought against untouchability and served as Secretary of SNDP Taluka Committee for a long period. His mother was a prominent political congress leader of Kerala. She was the President of Kerala State Mahila Congress. She contested elections in the citadel of communists since 1960. Vayalar Ravi studied at S.D. College, Alappuzha, Maharajas College, Ernakulam and Law College, Ernakulam and gained B.A., M.A., and B.L degrees.

Political Career of Vayalar Ravi
Vayalar Ravi is a member of Indian National Congress. The positions that he held throughout his political career are:

  • 1971-77 Member, Fifth Lok Sabha
  • 1977-79 Member, Sixth Lok Sabha
  • 1982 Home Minister, Kerala
  • 1982-91 Member, Kerala Legislative Assembly
  • July 1994 Elected to Rajya Sabha
  • April 2003 Elected to Rajya Sabha
  • June 2003-Feb. 2004 Member, Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture
  • June 2003-July 2004 Member, Committee on Petitions
  • Aug. 2003 - June 2006 Member, Rubber Board
  • Aug. 2004 - Jan. 2006 Chairman, Parliamentary Standing Committee on Human Resource Development
  • Oct. 2004 - Jan. 2006 Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Civil Aviation Member, General Purposes Committee
  • 29 Jan. 2006 onwards Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs
  • 6 April 2008-22 May 2009 Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
  • April 2009 Re-elected to Rajya Sabha

  • He has also served as former President, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (I); prominent trade union leader; President, (i) Cochin Port Staff Association, (ii) Cochin Thuramukha Thozhilali Union and (iii) Cochin Port Wharf Staff Association (C.P.W.S.A.); Founder Leader, Kerala Students` Union, the pioneer student movement in 1957; was in charge, Students Wing of All India Congress Committee (A.I.C.C.) and organized National Students` Union of India (N.S.U.I.); was Convener, State Youth Congress in 1965; was General Secretary, Indian Youth Congress; Member, (i) A.I.C.C. since 1967, (ii) Congress Working Committee in 1972 and (iii) Indian Delegations to U.N.; General Secretary, A.I.C.C.

    He was appointed as the Union Cabinet Minister for Overseas Affairs on January 30, 2006. He was given the responsibility of Ministry of Civil Aviation on January 19, 2011. He resigned from the post after Ajit Singh Chaudhary succeeded him.

    Personal Life of Vayalar Ravi
    Vayalar Ravi married Shrimati Mercy Ravi on 9th June 1969. The couple has two daughters and one son. Mercy Ravi died on September 5, 2009 as she was suffering from a kidney failure.

    (Last Updated on : 03/06/2014)
    More Articles in Indian Politicians  (102)
    Recently Updated Articles in Indian Personalities
    Chakravarthi Padmanabhan Ramanujam
    Chakravarthi Padmanabhan Ramanujam was a popular Indian Mathematician of the 20th century. C.P Ramanujam is known for his contribution in the field of number theory and algebraic geometry.
    Indian Speakers
    Indian Speakers are the presiding officers in Lok Sabha. From the time of Independence, Lok Sabha Speakers are playing an important role in monitoring the Members of Parliament during the three sessions.
    Prem Kumar Dhumal
    Prem Kumar Dhumal is the current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh and belongs to Bharatiya Janata Party. He chaired the post for the same state earlier from 1998 to 2003.
    Omar Abdullah
    Omar Abdullah is the 11th and youngest Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir. He also remained the Minister of state for External Affairs.
    Narayana Murthy
    Nagavara Ramarao Narayana Murthy, better known, as Narayana Murthy is one of the founders of Infosys Technologies.
    E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
    Forum on Indian Personalities
    Free E-magazine
    Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Society
    Vayalar Ravi, Indian Politician - Informative & researched article on Vayalar Ravi, Indian Politician
    Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
    Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
    Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.