Cities of Uttar Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Cities of Uttar Pradesh
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Cities

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
States of India|Indian Cities|Beaches of India|Hill Stations in India|Forests in India
Home > Travel > Indian Cities > Cities of India > Cities of Uttar Pradesh
Cities of Uttar Pradesh
Cities of Uttar Pradesh are covering the places, where the cities are mostly enriched with history and archaeology. A large number of the cities of Uttar Pradesh are consecrated places drawing a large number of pilgrims.
More on Cities of Uttar Pradesh (229 Articles)
Varanasi  (20)
Mathura  (3)
Kausambi  (1)
Bareilly  (1)
Agra  (1)
Faridabad  (1)
Kanpur  (1)
Ghaziabad  (1)
Deogarh  (1)
 Cities of Uttar PradeshCities of Uttar Pradesh are sanctified by the holy waters of the Ganga River and the Yamuna River. These cities are the most populous state of India.

Cities of Uttar Pradesh harbouring a number of pilgrimage spots, impart a specific spiritual identity to the state. In most of the cities of Uttar Pradesh, Hindi or Urdu is spoken. There are many variations of Hindi like Awadhi language, Bagheli language, Bhojpuri language, Braj language, Bundeli language.

The important cities in Uttar Pradesh are Lucknow (the administrative and legislative capital), Kanpur, Bijnor, Jhansi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Agra, Varanasi, Allahabad, Faizabad, Azamgarh,Bareilly, Meerut, Moradabad, Ghaziabad, Aligarh, Gorakhpur, Saharanpur, Mathura and Noida.
Cities of Uttar Pradesh
Kanpur is the largest city in the state of Uttar Pradesh. It is the 10th most populous urban agglomeration in India, the second largest industrial city of the Hindi belt in North India. Kanpur is the administrative headquarters of Kanpur Nagar district and Kanpur division and is known as Leather City of the world.

Varanasi is the spiritual capital of India, located in Uttar Pradesh. It is often referred to as "the holy city of India", "the religious capital of India", "the city of Lord Shiva", and "the city of learning". Varanasi has been a cultural centre of North India for several thousand years, and has a history that is older than most of the major world religions. The Benares Gharana form of Hindustani classical music was developed in Varanasi, and many prominent Indian philosophers, poets, writers, and musicians live or have lived in Varanasi.

Cities of Uttar Pradesh Allahabad
Allahabad is a city in the north of Uttar Pradesh. It is the administrative headquarters of the Allahabad District. Allahabad is the seventh most-populous city in the state and thirty-sixth most-populous cities in India, with an estimated population of 1.11 million in the city and 1.21 million in its metropolitan region. In 2011, it was ranked the world's 130th fastest-growing city.

Meerut is a city in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It is an ancient city with settlements dating back to the Indus Valley civilization having been found in and around the area. The city lies 70 km northeast of the national capital New Delhi, and 453 kilometres northwest of the state capital, Lucknow.

Cities of Uttar Pradesh Aligarh is a city in Uttar Pradesh. It is administrative headquarters of the Aligarh Division and Aligarh Police Range. The city is an agricultural trade centre.

Gorakhpur is a regional town in Uttar Pradesh. It is a city along the banks of Rapti River in the eastern part of Uttar Pradesh, near the Nepal border 273 east of the state capital Lucknow. It is the administrative headquarter of Gorakhpur District and Gorakhpur Division.

Cities of Uttar Pradesh Mathura is a city in Uttar Pradesh. It is best known as the abode of Lord Krishna. It is located approximately 50 kilometres north of Agra, and 145 kilometres south-east of Delhi; about 11 kilometres from the town of Vrindavan, and 22 kilometres from Govardhan.

Noida is a city in India under the management of the New Okhla Industrial Development Authority. It is part of National Capital Region of India. It is now the reality hub and the commercial hub in Uttar Pradesh after Mumbai, Maharashtra.

Faizabad is the old capital of Awadh. Faizabad is the headquarters of Faizabad District and Faizabad division as well. It is a joint municipal board with Ayodhya in the state of Uttar Pradesh. Historically acclaimed city in Uttar Pradesh, this city is situated on the banks of river Ghaghra. It was the first capital of the Nawabs of Awadh and has monuments built by the Nawabs, like the Tomb of Bahu Begum, Gulab Bari.

Cities of Uttar Pradesh Jaunpur is located to the northwest of the district of Varanasi in the eastern part of the North Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. Jaunpur resembles the rest of the Purvanchal area in which it is located.

Lucknow is the capital city of the state of Uttar Pradesh. It is a major metropolitan city of India. Lucknow is the administrative headquarters of the eponymous District and Division. It is the 10th most populous city of India and the second largest in North India after Delhi.

Unnao is the headquarters in Uttar Pradesh. It is located in between Kanpur and Lucknow. It is approximately 18 km from Kanpur and 60 km from Lucknow. It is connected to these two cities by roadway as well as by railway. The nearest airport is at Chakeri Airport about 18 km from Unnao and Chaudhary Charan Singh Airport about 50 km from Unnao.

Cities of Uttar Pradesh Agra
Agra is a city on the banks of the Yamuna River in Uttar Pradesh. It is 378 kilometres (235 mi) west of the state capital, Lucknow, 206 kilometres (128 mi) south of the national capital New Delhi and 125 kilometres (78 mi) north of Gwalior.

Lakhimpur is a city and a municipal board in Lakhimpur Kheri district in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. The main industry which dominates Lakhimpur Kheri is the sugar industry. It houses various sugar industries ranging from small plants to big integrated sugar mills. There are many private, government and co-operative sugar mills in the region.

(Last Updated on : 22/06/2015)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Cities of India  (2082)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Cities
Raichak is a small town in South 24 Parganas of West Bengal. This spot is famous for the weekend tourists who are residing in Kolkata and its adjacent areas.
Kiriburu is situated in the state of Jharkhand. Kiriburu is a residential locale in West Singhbhum district and has got a population of 9545.
Beawar is a city in Rajasthan and it was denoted as the financial capital of the Rajputana State.
Bijbehara is a town in Anantnagar District of Jammu and Kashmir and the notified area includes Baba Mohalla, Saraf Mohalla, Dhobi Ghat, Wanteng, Sadar Bazar, Ahanger Mohalla, Goriwan, Feroze Shah Mohalla, Sheikh Mohalla, Eidgah, Sicop.
Forum on Indian Cities
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Travel
Cities of Uttar Pradesh - Informative & researched article on Cities of Uttar Pradesh
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.