Cities of Gujarat - Informative & researched article on Cities of Gujarat
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Cities

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
States of India|Indian Cities|Beaches of India|Hill Stations in India|Forests in India
Home > Travel > Indian Cities > Cities of India > Cities of Gujarat
Cities of Gujarat
Commercial viability, historical heritage as well as scenic wonders make the cities of Gujarat truly remarkable.
More on Cities of Gujarat (91 Articles)
Junagadh  (2)
Udvada  (2)
Vadnagar  (2)
Vadodara  (1)
 Cities of GujaratCities of Gujarat bore the tradition and ethnicity of several local Hindu folks like Gurjars, residing since a long period of time. Also traces of Harappan civilization are found in every corner of cities of Gujarat. Naturally it draws the attention of archeologists and tourists from everywhere. At the time of National movement, cities of Gujarat also have seen the struggles of Indian freedom fighters. As far as the cities of Gujarat are concerned, there is hardly any trace of hills and mountains; the people enjoy hot summers and pleasant winter days.

Gujarat has 26 districts, which include Ahmedabad, Amreli, Banaskantha, Bhavnagar, Bharuch, Dang, Junagadh, Jamnagar, Kheda, Kachchh, Sabarkantha, Panchmahal, Mehsana, Rajkot, Surat, Surendranagar, and Vadodara (Baroda). In 1964, a new district called the Gandhinagar District was formed with Gandhinagar as the state capital.

Ahmedabad, nestled by the banks of the River Sabarmati, is the largest city in the state of Gujarat and also one of the largest urban agglomerations in India. Ahmedabad is the administrative centre of Ahmedabad district and had been the capital of Gujarat from 1960 to 1970; the capital city was shifted to Gandhinagar thereafter. Sanand, Dholka, Rampura, Barwala, Daskroi, Dhandhuka, Detroj, Bavla, and Viramgam are the major cities in the Ahmedabad district. These cities are best known for their rural culture and handwork. The traditional songs and dances can be experienced at its best in the above-mentioned cities of Gujarat.

Junagadh District of Gujarat is located on the Kathiawar peninsula in western Gujarat; the city of Junagadh is its administrative headquarters. Various places of tourist's interest such as Museum, Darbar Hill Museum, Sakkarbag Zoo, Gayatri Mandir, Sonapur and other sites have made Junagadh a popular place.

Amreli District, located in Gujarat has its headquarters located at Amreli. The cities in this district are Karamsad, Karamsad and Dakorcities. These cities are spotted with some of the unique temples of Gujarat, laced with the traditional stories of this state.

Cities of Gujarat Banaskantha, a district in northeast of Gujarat has the cities and towns, namely Palanpur, Deesa, Thara, Vav, Bhabhar, Deodar, Tharad, Ambaji and Vadgam. Bharuch district lies in the southern part of the Gujarat peninsula and have Ankleshwar, Jambusar, Hansot, Panoli, Jhagadia, Valia and Vagra cities. The above-mentioned cities are mainly industrial cities with large amount of production. The transport system and health unit of these cities are some of the best in entire Gujarat.

Bhavnagar is a peninsular district of Gujarat with Bhavnagar city as the administrative headquarter of the district. Bhavnagar is known to be a land of poets and artists. The city of Dahod is the administrative headquarter of Dahod District. Dang district has its headquarters at Ahwa.

Jamnagar District has the city Jamnagar and also the pilgrimage city of Dwarka. Jamnagar is a city with many exquisite temples, namely Vardhman Shah's Temple, Raisi Shah's Temple, Sheth's Temple, and Vasupujya Swami's Temple. Kheda District includes the city of Kheda, Nadiad, Balasinor, and Dakor. Kachchh (also spelled as Kutch) include main cities of Gandhidham, Rapar, Anjar, Adipur, Mandvi and Mundra. Gandhidham is a well-connected city to all the major places of Gujarat.

Mehsana District has Mehsana city as the administrative headquarter and other cities like Becharaji, Vijapur, Vadnagar, Kheralu, Kadi, Mahesana, Visnagar, Satlasana and Unjha. Mehsana city is an agricultural hub, cultivating important export crops like Bajra, jowar, jira, and cotton and oilseeds mirch. Narmada district has its headquarters at Rajpipla. Navsari district includes Navsari city.

Panchmahal district in Gujarat includes cities like Kalol, Halol and Santrampur. The Patan district and Porbandar district are other districts of the state. Rajkot city is an important city of Gujarat with a strong cultural base. Music, Sports, Media and performing arts are found at its best in Rajkot. Sabarkantha district has Himmatnagar, Idar, Khedbrahma and Modasa cities.

Cities of Gujarat Surat district has Surat city, famous for its Surti cuisine. Surendranagar district includes Surendranagar city and other cities like Dhrangadhra, Halvad, Lakhtar, Limbdi, and Wadhwan. Surendranagar city is popularly known as 'city of Hi Tech bungalows' for its magnificent modern architecture. Songadh, Uchchhal cities are included in the Tapi district.

Vadodara District includes cities like Vadodara, Dabhoi, Chhota Udaipur, Karjan, Padra, Sankheda, Savli and Sinor. Vadodara has its major industries of petrochemicals, engineering, pharmaceuticals, plastics and Forex. Valsad district has its administrative capital, as Valsad and the major cities are Daman, Vapi, Dharampur, Silvassa, Umbergaon and Bhilad.

The cities of Gujarat are close knitted and thus form an entwined entity of Gujarati culture and tradition.

(Last Updated on : 11/07/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Cities of India  (2082)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Cities
Raichak is a small town in South 24 Parganas of West Bengal. This spot is famous for the weekend tourists who are residing in Kolkata and its adjacent areas.
Kiriburu is situated in the state of Jharkhand. Kiriburu is a residential locale in West Singhbhum district and has got a population of 9545.
Beawar is a city in Rajasthan and it was denoted as the financial capital of the Rajputana State.
Bijbehara is a town in Anantnagar District of Jammu and Kashmir and the notified area includes Baba Mohalla, Saraf Mohalla, Dhobi Ghat, Wanteng, Sadar Bazar, Ahanger Mohalla, Goriwan, Feroze Shah Mohalla, Sheikh Mohalla, Eidgah, Sicop.
Forum on Indian Cities
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Travel
Cities of Gujarat - Informative & researched article on Cities of Gujarat
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.