Dronacharya Awards, Indian Sports Awards - Informative & researched article on Dronacharya Awards, Indian Sports Awards
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesAthletics

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Traditional Sports|Indian Hockey|Indian Cricket|Indian Tennis|Indian Football|Chess|Athletics
Home > Sports > Athletics > Sports Awards in India > Dronacharya Awards
Dronacharya Awards, Indian Sports Awards
Dronacharya Award is the prestigious and honourable awards that are being given by the Government of India to the successful Sports Coaches.
 Dronacharya Awards, Indian Sports AwardsDronacharya Award is an award presented by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India for excellence in sports coaching. The award comprises of a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash component of Rs.5 lakhs. The award was instituted in 1985.

Named after Dronacharya, the coach of Mahabharata fame, the award is the best recognition of a guru or coach in Indian sports. This award is indeed a great acknowledgement that a sportsperson can achieve, only after the hard work of several years.

Prize for Dronacharya Awardees
Dronacharya Award comprises a statuette of Dronacharya which is intricately carved out in bronze, a cash component of Rs.5 lakhs, a ceremonial dress and a scroll of honour. The winners are invited to the venue, where an award function is held. According to rules of the Award, no person can be honoured twice with this award. Dronacharya Awards are given to the trainers and coaches with consistent outstanding performance at:

1. Global Olympic Events
2. Sports disciplines recognized by the Government
3. Indigenous sports recognized by the Government

Dronacharya Awards, Indian Sports AwardsHistory of Dronacharya Award
Instituted in 1985, Indian Government confers this award to the sports coaches acknowledging their excellence. O.M. Nambiar, Athletics coach, was the first Dronacharya Award recipient in 1985.

Etymology of Dronacharya Award
The naming of the award has indeed the reference of the Mahabharata and as the best sportsperson award is named as the "Arjuna Award" so quite ideally the coaching award is named after, Dronacharya (as he was the guru of Arjuna. ) to recognise the 'Guru-Shishya Parampara' and to honour the Guru .

Objectives of Dronacharya Award
The objectives of Dronacharya Award can be described as follows:
  • The first objective of Dronacharya Award is to honour the contribution and role of instructors, trainers and coaches on a consistent basis leading towards unmatched performances by the sportspersons trained by them.
  • The another objective of this award is to motivate coaches and trainers to work with focus and dedication and train sportspersons in order to help them attain success at the global sports events.

  • Dronacharya Award Recipients
    Year Name of the Sportsperson(s) Sport Discipline
    1985 O.M. Nambiar Athletics
    1985 Om Prakash Bhardwaj Boxing
    1985 Bhalchandra Bhaskar Bhagwat Wrestling
    1986 Raghunandan Vasant Gokhle Chess
    1986 Desh Prem Azad Cricket
    1987 Gurcharan Singh Cricket
    1987 Guru Hanuman Wrestling
    1990 Ramakant Achrekar Cricket
    1990 Syed Naeemuddin Football
    1990 A. Ramana Rao Volleyball
    1994 Ilyas Babar Athletics
    1995 Karan Singh Athletics
    1995 M. Shyam Sunder Rao Volleyball
    1996 Wilson Jones Billiards & Snooker
    1996 Pal Singh Sandhu Weightlifting
    1997 Joginder Singh Saini Athletics
    1998 Bahadur Singh Athletics
    1998 Hargobind Singh Sandhu Athletics
    1998 G.S.Sandhu Boxing
    1999 Kenneth Owen Bosen Athletics
    1999 Capt. Hawa Singh Boxing
    1999 Ajay Kumar Sirohi Weightlifting
    2000 S.M. Arif Badminton
    2000 Gudial Singh Bhangu Hockey
    2000 Phadke Gopal Pushottam Kho-Kho
    2000 Bhupender Dhawan Powerlifting
    2000 Hansa Sharma Weightlifting
    2001 Prof. Sunny Thomas Shooting
    2001 Michael Joseph Ferreira Billiards & Snooker
    2002 Renu Kohli Athletics
    2002 Jaswant Singh Athletics
    2002 M.K. Kaushik Hockey
    2002 E. Prasad Rao Kabaddi
    2002 Cdr. H.D. Motivala Yachting
    2003 Robert Bobby George Athletics
    2003 Anup Kumar Boxing
    2003 Rajinder Singh Hockey
    2003 Sukhchain Singh Cheema Wrestling
    2004 Arvind Savur Billiards & Snooker
    2004 Sunita Sharma Cricket
    2004 Cyrus Poncha Squash
    2004 Gurcharan Singh Boxing
    2005 Hony. Captain M Venu Boxing
    2005 Balwan Singh Kabaddi
    2005 Maha Singh Rao Wrestling
    2005 Ismail Baig Rowing
    2006 R D Singh Athletics
    2006 Damodaran Chandralal Boxing
    2006 Koneru Ashok Chess
    2007 Sanjeev Kumar Singh Archery
    2007 Jagdish Singh Boxing
    2007 G.E. Sridharan Volley Ball
    2007 Jagminder Singh Wrestling
    2009 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
    2009 Satpal Wrestling
    2009 J. Uday Kumar Kabaddi
    2009 Baldev Singh Hockey
    2009 Jaidev Bisht Boxing
    2010 AK Kutty Athletics
    2010 Captain Chandrup Wrestling
    2010 Ajay Kumar Bansal Hockey
    2010 Subhash Agarwal Billiards & Snooker
    2010 L Ibomcha Singh Boxing
    2011 Inukurthi Venkateshwara Rao Boxing
    2011 Devender Kumar Rathore Gymnastics
    2011 Ramphal Athletics
    2011 Kuntal Roy Athletics
    2011 Rajinder Singh Hockey
    2012 Virendra Poonia Athletics
    2012 Sunil Dabas Kabaddi
    2012 Yashvir Singh Wrestling
    2012 Harendra Singh Hockey
    2012 Satyapal Singh Para Sports
    2012 J.S. Bhatia Athletics
    2012 Bhavani Mukharjee Table Tennis
    2012 B.I. Fernadez Cuban Boxing Coach-Boxing
    2013 Poornima Mahato Archery
    2013 Mahavir Singh Boxing
    2013 Narinder Singh Saini Hockey
    2013 K P Thomas Athletics
    2013 Raj Singh Wrestling
    2014 Jose Jacob Rowing
    2014 N.Lingappa Athletics
    (Last Updated on : 10/10/2015)
    E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
    More Articles in Sports Awards in India  (29)
    Recently Updated Articles in Athletics
    Anirban Lahiri
    Anirban Lahiri is an Indian professional golf player who currently plays on Asian Tour and he is the first golfer from India to qualify for President`s Cup team.
    Squash in India
    Squash in India is a fairly popular sport. Though a fairly recent addition in the world of sports (see history of Squash), it has taken a firm footing in India.
    Management of Indian Squash
    Management of Indian Squash is conducted by Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) along with other national and state associations for better operation.
    Terms of Athletics
    Terms of Athletics is essential towards understanding the game well. It clearly defines the game.
    Forum on Athletics
    Free E-magazine
    Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Sports
    Dronacharya Awards, Indian Sports Awards - Informative & researched article on Dronacharya Awards, Indian Sports Awards
    Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
    Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
    Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.