Arjuna Awardees in Weightlifting - Informative & researched article on Arjuna Awardees in Weightlifting
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesAthletics

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Traditional Sports|Indian Hockey|Indian Cricket|Indian Tennis|Indian Football|Chess|Athletics
Home > Sports > Athletics > Sports Awards in India > Arjuna Awardees in Weightlifting
Arjuna Awardees in Weightlifting
The game of Weightlifting is amongst the successful games in the history of Indian sports.
 Arjuna Awardees in WeightliftingWeightlifting is such a game in India that has been producing quite a good number of internationally tasted players who did bring a lot of prizes along with great honours to the country. So it is quite easily understandable that such a sport will definitely have a good number of representatives in the winners' list of the "Arjuna Award" and it has indeed. From 1961 that is the very first year of the institution of the "Arjuna Award", the weightlifters seems to have very much successful in winning the award on quite a regular basis. The first weightlifter to win the award in the history was A.N. Ghosh who won it in 1961. He was followed by two of his friends from the field of weightlifting, L.K. Dass and K.E. Rao who won the award in the years of 1962 and 1963 respectively. After them, B.S. Bhatia became successful to win the award in 1965 and Mohan Lal Ghosh won it in 1966.

After S. John Gabriel won the award in the year of 1967, there was a little gap of 3 years in the winners' list of the award for the weightlifters. However, in 1970, Arun Kumar Dass won the award and started to enter the names of the weightlifters in the winners' list. S.L. Salwan won it in the year of 1971 and Anil Kumar Mandal succeeded in 1972. After the year of 1973 remained winner less, S. Vellaiswamy became the winner in 1974. The weightlifters visited the winners' list quite regularly after that year till 1979. During this time, Dalbir Singh won it in 1975; K. Balamuruganandam in 1976; M.T. Selvan in 1977-78 and E. Karaunakaran was the winner in 1978-79. The weightlifters also did visit the winners' list from the year of 1981 to 1983 when B.K. Satpathy, Tara Singh and Vispy K. Daroga won the award respectively.

Then again from the year of 1985 to 1987, three weightlifters won the "Arjuna Award". They were M.C. Bhaskar in 1985; Jag Mohan Sapra in 1986 and G. Devan in the year of 1987. In 1989, the award was won by a female weightlifter named as Jyotsna Dutta and in 1990, two weightlifters like R. Chandra and Ms. N. Kunjarani became the joint winner. Another female weightlifter Chhaya Adak followed them in the year of 1991 and Bharati Singh and K. Malleswari won the award in the years of 1993 and 1994 respectively. There were two winners again in 1997 in the names of Paramjit Sharma and N. Laxmi and in 1998, Satish Rai became the winner. The weightlifters like Dalbir Singh, Sanamacha Chanu Thingbaijan and Thandava Murthy Muthu were the winners of the "Arjuna Award" in the years of 1999, 2000 and 2002 respectively. Amongst them, Thandava Murthy Muthu is the last weightlifter so far to win the "Arjuna Award".Geeta rani won the Arjuna Award for 2007 in weightlifting.

The game of Weightlifting is amongst the successful games in the history of Indian sports and from the discussion above, it is quite evident for the fact that this particular game definitely posses the ability to produce more and more successful weightlifters in the future who can win the "Arjuna Award" very easily.

Year Recipient Name Year Recipient Name
1961 A.N. Ghosh 1983 Vispy K. Daroga
1962 L.K. Dass 1985 Mehar Chand Bhaskar
1963 K.E. Rao 1986 Jag Mohan Sapra
1965 B.S. Bhatia 1987 G. Devan
1966 Mohan Lal Ghosh 1989 Jyotsna Dutta
1967 S. John Gabriel 1990 R. Chandra, N. Kunjarani
1970 Arun Kumar Dass 1991 Chhaya Adak
1971 S.L. Salwan 1993 Bharati Singh
1972 Anil Kumar Mandal 1994 K. Malleswari
1974 S. Vellaiswamy 1997 Paramjit Sharma, N. Laxmi
1975 Dalbir Singh 1998 Satheesha Rai
1976 K. Balamuruganandam 1999 Dalbir Singh
1977-78 M.T. Selvan 2000 Sanamacha Chanu Thingbaijan
1978-79 E. Karaunakaran 2002 Thandava Murthy Muthu
1981 B.K. Satpathy 2006 Geeta Rani
1982 Tara Singh - -

(Last Updated on : 21/07/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Sports Awards in India  (29)
Recently Updated Articles in Athletics
Anirban Lahiri
Anirban Lahiri is an Indian professional golf player who currently plays on Asian Tour and he is the first golfer from India to qualify for President`s Cup team.
Squash in India
Squash in India is a fairly popular sport. Though a fairly recent addition in the world of sports (see history of Squash), it has taken a firm footing in India.
Management of Indian Squash
Management of Indian Squash is conducted by Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) along with other national and state associations for better operation.
Terms of Athletics
Terms of Athletics is essential towards understanding the game well. It clearly defines the game.
Forum on Athletics
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Sports
Arjuna Awardees in Weightlifting - Informative & researched article on Arjuna Awardees in Weightlifting
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.