Arjuna Awardees in Cricket - Informative & researched article on Arjuna Awardees in Cricket
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesAthletics

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Traditional Sports|Indian Hockey|Indian Cricket|Indian Tennis|Indian Football|Chess|Athletics
Home > Sports > Athletics > Sports Awards in India > Arjuna Awardees in Cricket
Arjuna Awardees in Cricket
Arjuna Awardees in Cricket is probably the highest as far as history of sports awards are concerned.
 Arjuna Awardees in Cricket The first one of the Arjuna Awardees in Cricket was the great all-rounder Saleem Durani, who won the award in the very first year of its inception, in 1961. Since the inception of Cricket in India during the middle half of the nineteenth century, India has produced several cricketers, who have dominated the world of Cricket during their career. A number of those cricketers were also honored by the Government of India through the Arjuna Award. The number of Arjuna Awardees in Cricket is probably the highest in the history of the award so far. Only a few other sports have that many awardees.

After a gap of three years, Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi received the award in the year 1964 and he was followed by Vijay Manjrekar, who won it in 1965. One of the greatest captains in the history of Indian Cricket, C. G. Borde was bestowed upon the award in 1966, while it was won by Ajit Wadekar in 1967. The year 1968 saw E.A.S Prasanna enlisting his name among the Arjuna Awardees in Cricket and one of India's greatest spinners, Bishen Singh Bedi won it in 1969.

Arjuna Awardees in Cricket Nikhanj won it in the year of 1979-80. The famous cricketer D. N. Sardesai entered his name into the list of Arjuna Awardees in Cricket by winning the award in 1970. The next year, 1971, saw one of the magical spin quartet of India, S Venkataraghavan winning the Arjuna Award. In 1972, two cricketers jointly won the award and the cricketers were B.S. Chandrasekhar and E. D. Solkar. One of the legendary batsmen in the history of Indian Cricket and also World Cricket, Sunil Gavaskar won the Arjuna Award in 1975 and he was followed by S. Rangaswamy in 1976. Another legendary batsman of India, Gundappa Vishwanath became one of the Arjuna Awardees in Cricket in 1977-78. The year 1978-79 saw the world famous all rounder, Kapil Dev winning the Arjuna Award and in 1980-81, the award was given to C.P.S. Chauhan.

While the famous Wicket-keeper batsman of India, Syed Kirmani became one of the Arjuna Awardees in 1980-81, one of the most successful captains of India, D. Vengsarkar won it in 1981. M. Amarnath received the award in the year 1982 for his extraordinary performances in the cricket field and in 1983; the award went to Ms. D. Edulji. She became the first Indian women cricketer to win the Arjuna Award. Then in 1984, the award went to Ravi Shastri and the year 1985, Ms. S. D. Kulkarni won it. Arjuna Awardees in Cricket The year 1986 saw joint winners from Cricket, as both the famous cricketers like Ms. S. Agarwal and Mohammad Azharuddin were announced as the winners.

Though the Indian cricketers continued to win the Arjuna Award on a regular basis, there was a gap of 2 years for them, after 1986. No cricketer could win the award in 1987 and 1988. However, in 1989, Madan Lal entered his name into the list of Arjuna Awardees in Cricket. There was again a gap of 4 years for the cricketers to win the award, before Kiran More and Manoj Prabhakar jointly won it in 1993. In 1994, the Indian Government honoured one of the all time greatest batsmen of India, Sachin Tendulkar with the Arjuna Award. The award went to another great cricketer, Anil Kumble in the year 1995, and Javagal Srinath won it in 1996. Arjuna Awardees in Cricket The year 1997 again saw joint winners of Arjuna Award from Cricket, as both Ajay Jadeja and Saurav Ganguly won the award.

The next year 1998 also saw joint winners of the Arjuna Award from Cricket and in this year, the award went to Nayan Ramlal Mongia and Rahul Dravid. B. K. Venkatesh Prasad became one of the Arjuna Awardees in Cricket in 2000 and VVS Laxman followed him to win the award in 2001. The winner of this award in 2002 was Virender Sehwag, while in 2003; it was jointly won by Ms. Mithali Raj and Harbhajan Singh. After Mithali Raj, another famous women cricketer of India, Ms. Anju Jain became successful to win the award in 2005 and so far, the last name in the list of Arjuna Awardees in Cricket is Anjum Chopra. Anjum won the award in the year, 2007.

Year Recipient Name Year Recipient Name
1961 Saleem Durani 1984 Ravi Shastri
1964 Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi 1985 Shubhangi Kulkarni
1965 Vijay Manjrekar 1986 Mohammad Azharuddin, Sandhya Agarwal
1966 Chandu Borde 1989 Madan Lal
1967 Ajit Wadekar 1993 Manoj Prabhakar, Kiran More
1968 E.A.S. Prasanna 1994 Sachin Tendulkar
1969 Bishan Singh Bedi 1995 Anil Kumble
1970 Dilip Sardesai 1996 Javagal Srinath
1971 Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan 1997 Ajay Jadeja, Saurav Ganguly
1972 Eknath Solkar, B.S. Chandrashekhar 1998 Rahul Dravid, Nayan Mongia
1975 Sunil Gavaskar 2000 B.K. Venkatesh Prasad
1976 Shanta Rangaswamy 2001 VVS Laxman
1977-78 Gundappa Vishwanath 2002 Virender Sehwag
1979-80 Kapil Dev Nikhanj 2003 Harbhajan Singh, Mithali Raj
1980-81 Chetan Chauhan, Syed Kirmani 2005 Anju Jain
1981 Dilip Vengsarkar 2006 Anjum Chopra
1982 Mohinder Amarnath 2009 Gautam Gambhir
1983 Diana Edulji 2010 Jhulan Goswami

(Last Updated on : 19/07/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Sports Awards in India  (29)
Recently Updated Articles in Athletics
Anirban Lahiri
Anirban Lahiri is an Indian professional golf player who currently plays on Asian Tour and he is the first golfer from India to qualify for President`s Cup team.
Squash in India
Squash in India is a fairly popular sport. Though a fairly recent addition in the world of sports (see history of Squash), it has taken a firm footing in India.
Management of Indian Squash
Management of Indian Squash is conducted by Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) along with other national and state associations for better operation.
Terms of Athletics
Terms of Athletics is essential towards understanding the game well. It clearly defines the game.
Forum on Athletics
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Sports
Arjuna Awardees in Cricket - Informative & researched article on Arjuna Awardees in Cricket
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.