Arjuna Awardees in Badminton - Informative & researched article on Arjuna Awardees in Badminton
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesAthletics

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Traditional Sports|Indian Hockey|Indian Cricket|Indian Tennis|Indian Football|Chess|Athletics
Home > Sports > Athletics > Sports Awards in India > Arjuna Awardees in Badminton
Arjuna Awardees in Badminton
Arjuna Awardees in Badminton consists of a lot of prominent names in the sport starting from the earliest N.M. Natekar to the recent Saina Nehwal.
 Arjuna Awardees in Badminton The first name in the record of Arjuna Awardees in Badminton would belong to N.M. Natekar as who was honoured with the award in the years 1961. Amongst all the indoor games that have been played in India over the past several years, the game of Badminton will definitely be considered as one of the most popular and famous sports. Being played in a great way in all over India, the game is mostly popular among the youth of India. There are quite a number of Badminton players as well who became successful in the regional and international tournaments while representing the country. For performing successfully and bringing glory to the country, the Government of India had honoured the Badminton players by bestowing them the highly respected and renowned Arjuna Awards.

The first successful Badminton players to win the award was N.M. Natekar who won it in 1961 and Ms. Meena Shah followed him to win it in the very next year in 1962. After her, Dinesh Khanna won the award in the year of 1965 and in 1967; the award was presented to Suresh Goel. In the year 1969, Dipu Ghosh became the winner of the Arjuna Award. The period after that saw a very good run of the Badminton players in the winners' list of the award, when they claimed it in each of the three following years. During this time, D.V. Tambay won it in 1970; S. Moorthy in 1971 and one of the greatest Badminton players of India, Prakash Padukone, won the award in the year of 1972. The decade of 1970's went well for the Badminton players as far as winning the Arjuna Award was concerned. After Prakash Padukone won the award, Raman Ghosh won it in 1974. Davinder Ahuja and Ami Ghia followed him successfully, as they became the winner in the years of 1975 and 1976 respectively. In 1977-78, Ms. K.T. Singh became successful to win the award as a female Badminton player and right after her, Syed Modi claimed the prestigious award in 1980-81. The game of Badminton got a double winner in the year of 1982, when the award was named after both P. Ganguli and Ms. M. Goswami.

Arjuna Awardees in Badminton The later period was not that affluent as the Badminton players of India faced two huge unsuccessful periods, of which the first one started from 1982 to 1991. In 1991, Rajeev Bagga won the award and broke the dead lock temporarily. However, the second period of downfall started just after his win in 1991; and this one lasted till the year of 1999 when Pullela Gopichandwon the much coveted Arjuna Award for his wonderful performance in the All England Badminton Championship. In the very next year in 2000, George Thomas received the award and in 2003, Madasu Srinivas Rao won it as a Physically Challenged sportsperson. Then there was a consecutive wins for the Badminton players in the following two years as Abhinn Shyam Gupta and Ms. Aparna Popat claimed the award in the years of 2004 and 2005 respectively. The 2007 Arjuna Award is given to Chetan Anandfor his contribution in badminton and Rohit Bhakar won the award in the disable category. In the recent years, the thre were two new additions in the list of Arjuna Awardees in Badminton. Anup Sridhar was honoured with the Arjuna Award in 2008; whereas the very talented Saina Nehwal was conferred the Arjuna Award in the year 2009 for her brilliant performance.

Though the periods of the late 1980s and early 1990s did not go well for the Badminton players, but it can be concluded that there was never a lack of talent in the game of Badminton in India. At present also, there are a lot of promising Badminton players who have the ability to be successful in various levels of competitions, be it national, regional or international.

Year Recipient Name Year Recipient Name
1961 Nandu Natekar 1980-1981 Syed Modi
1962 Meena Shah 1982 P. Ganguli, Madhumita Bisht
1965 Dinesh Khanna 1991 Rajeev Bagga
1967 Suresh Goel 2000 Pullela Gopichand
1969 Dipu Ghosh 1999 George Thomas
1970 D. V. Tambay 2003 Madasu Srinivas Rao (Physically Challenged)
1971 S. Moorthy 2004 Abhinn Shyam Gupta
1972 Prakash Padukone 2005 Aparna Popat
1974 Raman Ghosh 2006 Chetan Anand, Rohit Bhakar (Physically Challenged)
1975 Davinder Ahuja 2008 Anup Sridhar
1976 Ami Ghia 2009 Saina Nehwal
1977-1978 Ms. K.T. Singh - -

(Last Updated on : 27/01/2015)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Sports Awards in India  (29)
Recently Updated Articles in Athletics
Anirban Lahiri
Anirban Lahiri is an Indian professional golf player who currently plays on Asian Tour and he is the first golfer from India to qualify for President`s Cup team.
Squash in India
Squash in India is a fairly popular sport. Though a fairly recent addition in the world of sports (see history of Squash), it has taken a firm footing in India.
Management of Indian Squash
Management of Indian Squash is conducted by Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) along with other national and state associations for better operation.
Terms of Athletics
Terms of Athletics is essential towards understanding the game well. It clearly defines the game.
Forum on Athletics
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Sports
Arjuna Awardees in Badminton - Informative & researched article on Arjuna Awardees in Badminton
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.