Rasa, Dhatu of Ayurveda - Informative & researched article on Rasa, Dhatu of Ayurveda
  Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articles Ayurveda

Art & Culture | Entertainment | Health | Reference | Sports | Society | Travel
Forum  | RSS Feeds  | Free E-magazine
Ayurveda : Ayurved in India l Ayurveda l Ayurvedic Pharmas in India l Ayurvedic Herbs l Kerala Ayurveda l History of Ayurveda l Development of Ayurveda l Diseases in Ayurveda l Ayurvedic Hospitals & Practitioners l Physiology of Ayurved l Panchakarma l Keraliya Pancha Karma l Ayurvedic Tastes l Malas in Ayurveda l Elements of Ayurveda l Branches of Ayurveda l Ayurveda Medication l Seven dhatus in Ayurveda l Concepts of Ayurveda l Treatment in Ayurveda l Ayurvedic Diet l Indian Ayurvedic Spas l Tridosha System in Ayurveda l Origin of Ayurveda l Astrogenetics l Panchagavya l Tastes in Ayurveda l Ayurvedic Massage l Ayurvedic Skin Care l Asthanga Ayurveda l Panchabhuta in Ayurveda l Ayurvedic Recipes l Gurukul System of Ayurveda l Ayurvedic Practitioners in India l Ayurvedic Hospitals in India l Principles Of Ayurveda
Home > Health > Ayurveda > Seven dhatus in Ayurveda > Rasa
Rasa, Dhatu of Ayurveda
Rasa, the preliminary dhatu of Ayurveda, refers to the matter that is produced after the digestion of food in the human body. Rasa Dhatu provides nourishment to every single cell and tissue of human body.

Rasa is one of the seven dhatus in Ayurveda. According to Ayurveda, Rasa is actually the first dhatu that is produced by the human body after digestion. Further, it is stated in Ayurveda that Rasa dhatu in human body gets generated and used every day. This preliminary dhatu of the human body mainly strengthens Rakta dhatu or blood by providing nourishment. On the whole, tissue fluids of the body include blood plasma and lymph. In Ayurveda, it is defined that Rasa Dhatu is of two types - Pushya and Poshak. Pushya Rasa is motionless whereas Poshak Rasa is movable and moreover, Pushya is fed by Poshak Rasa. Ayurveda has also explained that value of Poshak gets produced regularly from the daily diet.

According to Ashtang Ayurveda, there are seven dhatus or tissues in the human body, which form the body`s foundation thus ensuring growth and survival. These dhatus are composed of the five elements of Ayurveda - earth, water, fire, air and universal space. Rasa, a flowing dhatu, is the lowest in the hierarchical order of the seven dhatus and is the preliminary source of the other tissues. A nutritious meal, comprising all the six rasas or tastes when properly digested and absorbed by the digestive system generates the body fluid or Rasa.

Ayurvedic medicine also defines Rasa Dhatu as the quality or the `guna` of any substance or drug used by human body. Rasa is also defined as the science of working of body minerals. Conventionally it is said that when mercury is prepared in the body properly, it helps in balancing the three doshas, prevents diseases and nourishes the fundamental parts of the body. This dhatu of Ayurveda is obtained from the digested food used by the body and is considered identical to plasma. In other words, Rasa gets formed in the body when `agni` digests the consumed food.

Importance of Rasa
In human body, when food gets properly digested with the aid of secreted digestive fluids, and the nutritive substance is known as Rasa. In Ayurvedic context, this nutritive fluid helps in nourishing the cells and tissues of the body. Rasa is equivalent to extra-cellular and intra-cellular body fluids. Rasa Dhatu provides sustenance to body`s every part by thorough circulation of nutrients. The main six categories of Rasa Dhatu are Madhura Rasa (sweet), Amla Rasa (acidic), Lavana Rasa (saline), Katu Rasa (pungent), Tikta Rasa (bitter), and Kashaya Rasa (astringent).

  More Articles in Seven dhatus in Ayurveda
Rasa Rakta Mansa
Asthi Majja Shukra Dhatu
(Last Updated on : 26/04/2010)
Recently Updated Articles in Ayurveda
  • Branches of Ayurveda
    There are eight distinct branches of ayurveda with which ayurveda offers a rather holistic treatment.
  • Keraliya Pancha Karma
    Keraliya Pancha Karma is a simplified form of the Pancha karma therapy
  • Kaumarabhritya
    Kaumarabhritya is one of the eight branches of medical science or Ayurveda.
  • Vihara in Ayurveda
    Vihara in Ayurveda actually means the life supporting activities. This major principle of Ayurveda explains how to improve and maintain a healthy living standard. Vihara highly influences the daily scheduled life that is full of stress and confusions.
    E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
    Forum on Ayurveda

    Free E-magazine
    Subscribe to Free
    E-Magazine on Indian Crafts
    Rasa, Dhatu of Ayurveda - Informative & researched article on Rasa, Dhatu of Ayurveda
    Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
    Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of Jupiter Infomedia Pvt. Ltd.