Indian Movie Producers, Indian Cinema - Informative & researched article on Indian Movie Producers, Indian Cinema
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Movies

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
Indian Drama & Theatre|Indian Music|Indian Movies|Indian Television
Home > Movies & Entertainment > Indian Movies > Indian Movie Producers
Indian Movie Producers, Indian Cinema
The Indian movie producers are the filmmakers who actually made the Indian films to take its shape.
More on Indian Movie Producers, Indian Cinema (25 Articles)
 Indian Movie Producers, Indian CinemaThe Indian movie producers are people who create the conditions for making movies. The producer helps to co ordinate, supervises, and controls matters such as fund-raising, hiring key personnel and arranging for distributors. The movie producer is involved throughout all phases of the filmmaking progression from development to completion of a project. India has possessed some of the best movies producers who have gifted the industry with abundance of interesting films.

Nasir Hussain was a reputed Indian film producer and director. Born in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, he first worked with A. R. Kardar then he joined Filmistan in 1948 as a writer. The famous films he wrote for filmistan are Anarkali (1953), Munimjee (1955) and Paying Guest (1957) Filmistan was the breakaway studio from Bombay Talkies and it used medium budget productions and sold on star value and music. Sashadhar Mukherjee was a part of the breakaway team and offered Nasir Hussain, the film Tumsa Nahin Dekha to direct. The film made a star out of Shammi Kapoor.

B. R. Chopra is a world famous movie producer-director personality who has given many masterpiece works for which India can be proud of. Baldev Raj Chopra received the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in the year 1998 with an all round approval. In 1948, he produced his first film, 'Karwat' but eventually it was a flop at the box office. In 1951 he directed his first film 'Afsana'. With utter determination, B. R. Chopra went ahead, in Mumbai and founded his own production company called B.R. Films in the year 1955. He did this film with the purpose of making meaningful entertainers for family audience and did well in making some of the remarkable movies like 'Naya Daur', 'Dhool Ka Phool', 'Gumrah', 'Waqt', 'Humraaz', and 'Ittefaq'.

In 1920, the producer Dwarkadas N. Sampat founded the Kohinoor Film Company, and went on to become a legend with his marvelous films. He introduced wooden sets, doing away with the painted sceneries of the past. He made 98 films between 1919-1929, including legendary films like Vikram Urvashi, Anusuya, Bhakta Vidur, Kala Nag, Handsome Blackguard and Telephone Girl.

Ismail Merchant is best known for his award-winning films with director James Ivory - 'Heat and Dust', 'A Room with a View', 'Howards End', 'The Remains of the Day to name just a few', Regarded as one of the world's leading producers of Independent Films. He made films in both India and America. He has produced over 40 films and has won six Oscars.

Sashadhar Mukherjee was a producer in Hindi films and belongs to the distinguished Mukherjee clan of Bollywood. He was Ashok Kumar and Kishore Kumar's brother-in-law . Sashadhar Mukherjee was a producer for Bombay Talkies. In 1943 Sashadhar Mukherjee along with Rai Bahadur Chunilal, Ashok Kumar and Gyan Mukherjee formed a partnership and established the studio Filmistan in Goregaon.

Yash Johar was an Indian Bollywood film producer. He made abundance of Hindi films that were best known for featuring prolific sets and striking locations, but upheld Indian traditions and family values. Yash Johar came into the film industry as a storywriter, gradually became a producer. In 1962 he worked for Sunil Dutt's production company Ajanta Arts and assisted in the production of his film Mujhe Jeene Do. In the late 60s and 70s he produced Dev Anand's Navketan Films and was involved in the production of Guide, Jewel Thief, Prem Pujari and Hare Rama Hare Krishna.

Farhan Akhtar was born on January 9, 1974 and is an Indian film writer-director-actor-playback singer and producer. His directorial debut was Dil Chahta Hai, 2001 and was highly commended and he has since been noted for his cult following. He made his acting debut with Anand Surapur's film, The Fakir of Venice and Rock On. He also produced several films like Kismat Talkies (2008), Luck by Chance (2008), Honeymoon Travels Pvt. Ltd. (2006) and Rock On !! (2008).

Ashutosh Gowariker is an Indian actor, director, writer, and producer and started his career as an actor, making his debut in 1984 in director Ketan Mehta's movie, Holi. After acting in several television serials, including Kachchi Dhoop (1987), Circus (1989), C.I.D. (1999) and several films, he became a reputed producer. He produced films like Swades and Jodha Akhbar. Both the films are smash hits. In 2001, Ashutosh directed the period epic movie, Lagaan starring Aamir Khan; he received critical acclaim and nomination for an Oscar Academy Award in USA for Best Foreign Language Film.

Other producers in India are as follows
Ajay Devgan Sunil Dutt Boney Kapoor Premankur Atorthy
Akash Dixit Dwarakesh Sohail Khan Imran Qureshi
Farhan Akhtar Firoz A. Nadiadwala Krishnaveni (actress) Gulshan Rai
Allu Rama Lingaiah P. V. Gangadharan Madhu (actor) Raj Kanwar
Chetan Anand Ganguly family Randhir Kapoor Raj Kaushal
Suneil Anand Dhirendra Nath Ganguly Shashi Kapoor M. S. Raju
Anjali Devi Subhash Ghai Rajiv Kapoor D. Ramanaidu
Appachan Ritwik Ghatak Jamshedji Framji Madan Ramkumar Ganesan
Allu Aravind Devendra Goel Mahesh Manjrekar Ravi Chopra
Avichi Meiyappa Chettiar Ashutosh Gowariker Ismail Merchant B. Nagi Reddy
Aditya Babu Gulzar Sohrab Modi Kamal Sadanah
Nagendra Babu Javid Hussain Murali Mohan Jyoti Sarup
Amitabh Bachchan Nasir Hussain Sashadhar Mukherjee Savitri (actress)
Deepak Bahry Shobha Kapoor Gulshan Kumar Ronnie Screwvala
Banumathi Surinder Kapoor Rajendra Kumar Hiralal Sen
Baweja Movies Shekhar Kapur Sanjay Khan Santha Kumari
Vijay Bhatt Aamir Khan Shahrukh Khan V. Shantaram
Chalam Gauri Khan Sandeep Marwah Sunil Shetty
Juhi Chawla Nikhat Khan Sajid Nadiadwala Ramesh Sippy
Chithranjali Studio Dilip Kumar Ravikant Nagaich Subramaniam Srinivasan
Aditya Chopra Vinod Khanna Akkineni Nagarjuna Suresh Heblikar
Baldev Raj Chopra Vishnu Mathur Nallamalupu Bujji Moola Narayana Swamy
Yash Chopra Mukul S. Anand Nikhil Jassawalla Tarachand Barjatya
Sunny Deol Bhushan Kumar Pammi Baweja Ankur Tewari
Manmohan Desai R. Madhavan Baburao Patel Relangi Venkata Ramaiah
Dharmendra Hema Malini Dadasaheb Phalke Vipul Amrutlal Shah
Dil Raju Tahir Hussain J. Om Prakash Yaragudipati Varada Rao
C. Ashwini Dutt Bijaya Jena Prakash Jha Yash Johar
Guru Dutt Karan Johar Prakash Mehra  

(Last Updated on : 15/09/2014)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Movies
Awards for Best Book on Cinema
Awards for best book on cinema is a national award for encouraging the study of Indian cinema
National Film Awards
National Film Awards are presented for the best films in each region and language of the country.
Seeta Bibaha
The Oriya film industry is as old as the 1930`s, where the first film was based on the Ramayana.
Oriya Cinema Actors
Oriya actors have aided in restructuring the Oriya film industry.
Forum on Indian Movies
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Entertainment
Indian Movie Producers, Indian Cinema - Informative & researched article on Indian Movie Producers, Indian Cinema
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.