Padma Shri Awards - Informative & researched article on Padma Shri Awards
 Indianetzone: Largest Free Encyclopedia of India with thousand of articlesIndian Administration

 Art & Culture|Entertainment|Health|Reference|Sports|Society|Travel
Forum  | Free E-magazine  | RSS Feeds  
History of India|Indian Temples|Indian Museums|Indian Literature|Geography of India|Flora & Fauna|Indian Purans|Indian Philosophy|Indian Administration|Indian Languages|Education
Home > Reference > Indian Administration > Indian Civil Awards > Padma Shri Awards
Padma Shri Awards
Padma Shri Award is ranked fourth among the National Awards in India.
More on Padma Shri Awards (47 Articles)
 Padma Shri AwardsPadma Shri Award is one of the most honourable and prestigious civilian awards in India. The award is presented by the Government of India and is ranked fourth among all the national awards given in India. The Padma Shri Award is given to the eminent personalities from different parts of the Indian society as recognition of their outstanding contribution to their respective fields. The award is given in the fields like Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Social Service and Public Life.

The name of the Padma Shri Award came from a Sanskrit word 'Padma' that means the beautiful flower, Lotus. The term Padma Shri is written in Devanagari on the obverse of the medal, above and below the Lotus flower. The geometrical pattern designed on both sides of the medal, is in polished bronze and the embossing is done in white gold. The Award was instituted in the year 1954 and 18 prominent personalities received the award in the first year. The recipients were Dr. Bir Bhan Bhatia (Medicine), Dr. K. R. Chakravarty (Science & Engineering), Dr. Mathura Das (Medicine), Shri Relangi Venkata Ramaiah (Arts), Kumari Amalprava Das (Public Affairs), Lt. General S. P. Patil Thorat (Civil Service), Shri Akhil Chandra Mitra (Science & Engineering), Shri Apa Saheb Bala Saheb Pant (Civil Service), Shri Machani Somappa (Public Affairs), Shri Ramji Vasant Khanolkar (Medicine), Shri Shankar Pillai (Literature & Education), Shri Surinder Kumar Dey (Civil Service), Shri Tarlok Singh (Civil Service), Smt. Achamma Mathai (Public Affairs), Smt. Asha Devi Aryanayakam (Public Affairs), Smt. Bhag Mehta (Civil Service), Smt. Captain Perin (Public Affairs), and Smt. Mirnamayee Ray (Public Affairs).

The number of awardees of the Padma Shri award has increased year after year and so far the award was presented for the last time to 93 famous and successful personalities, in the year 2009. Some of the most popular among these awardees include Mahendra Singh Dhoni, (Cricket), Smt. Aishwarya Rai Bachchan (Art), Shri Akshay Kumar (Art), Dr. Ms. Ameena Ahmed Ahuja, (Art), Shri S. B. Ghosh Dastidar (Civil Service), Shri Ameen Sayani, (Commentary and Broadcasting), Shri Abhay Chhajlani (Journalism), etc.

(Last Updated on : 01/02/2013)
E-mail this Article | Post a Comment
More Articles in Indian Civil Awards  (175)
Recently Updated Articles in Indian Administration
Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India is an independent constitutional authority. It is responsible for the superintendence, direction and control of preparation of electoral rolls for, and the conduct of, elections to Parliament and State Legislatures and elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President of India. OP Rawat has been appointed as Election Commissioner of India
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
A.P.J Abdul Kalam is a man of letters and was the 11th President of India. He was a scientist by profession and made successful break through in the field of scientific innovations.
All India Services
All India Services are the three civil services of India, comprising of the IAS, IPS, and the IFS. These are the prestigious jobs under Government of India.
Reorganisation of Assam
Reorganisation of Assam was far more a difficult task and violent process than elsewhere at that time because the central government faced explicit, unequivocal secessionist demands from non Hindu tribal groups.
Forum on Indian Administration
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to Free E-Magazine on Reference
Padma Shri Awards - Informative & researched article on Padma Shri Awards
Contact Us   |   RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2008 Jupiter Infomedia Ltd. All rights reserved including the right to reproduce the contents in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of
Jupiter Infomedia Ltd.